Attacking with no icons

By j3radley, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hello, have a quick question.

Played our first game the other night, and my friend played c-3po (oddly his only character out) and he moved him to attack. He couldnt do anything (no attack icons), but since i had no characters out, it was an un-opposed attack, and my objective took a hit. c-3po went back, and since he wasn't focused, he attacked the next objective, and so on to the third.

Is this correct?

Seams odd.

During an engagement, any ready (non exhausted) participating unit has to be focused to strike at some point.

Being focused to strike is not dependent on having icons.

A unit with no icon is focused to strike as any over unit, but focusing it does not produce unit damage, blast damage or focus token (via tactics icon)

Though you have no icon, if there is no defenders left at the end of the engagement, you get rewarded with an unopposed bonus.

Imagine that C-3PO is just at the right place at the right time, like always :-)

Every Ready Unit that is in an engagement must Focus to Strike before ending the Resolve Strikes Step of the Engagement. C-3PO must have a Focus Token upon him once he finishes his Strike, whether he has any Combat Icons or not. Once the Resolve Strikes Step is finished, your opponent then checks for any Surviving Defending Units. If there are no Surviving Defending Units, whether they were Destroyed in the Engagement or you chose not to Defend, then your opponent would place 1 Unopposed Damage upon the Engaged Objective.

In summary, your opponent was not correct in his actions according to the rules of the game. C-3PO would have been Exhausted at the end of that first Engagement and would not have been able to Engage each Objective on his turn.

Hope that helps and if you have any more questions I would be happy to answer them. Have fun playing and may the Force be with you!

Edited by GroggyGolem

thanks so much for the replies =) really appreciate it =)

Pg 20 of the rulebook under "5. Resolve Strikes" it explains that each player in turn focuses one one of his participating ready units to strike, so C-3P0 in this case can only strike once. Your opponent would get an unopposed strike bonus however, but just against the one objective he can strike.