Preparation for Battle + A Dark Time for the Rebellion Interaction

By the_lock, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Anyone have an answer to the interaction between Preparation for Battle and A Dark Time for the Rebellion?

Namely, you have a shielded unit and the death star dial is 4 or lower:

Preparation for Battle:

Your shielded units cannot be damaged while the Death Star dial is 4 or lower.
Your shielded units gain [blast Damage] while the Death Star dial is 8 or higher.

On the DS turn after you refresh the LS player has to damage one unit or objective:

A Dark time for the Rebellion:

After you refresh, each opponent deals 1 damage to a unit or objective he controls.

Can the LS player assign this damage to the shielded unit and therefore nothing is damaged?

This thread suggests that they cannot (talking about protect and shielded units with prep for battle)

http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/84972-preparation-for-battle-renegade-squadron-escort/?hl=%2Bpreparation+%2Bbattle

But just asking if this interaction is any different.

Thanks

I'm going to go with the precedent from protect applying and it not working. You have to choose something to damage so you cannot choose something that cannot be damaged. It's just not a legal choice to deal damage to in the first place. It would be different if it was "prevent all damage" or something like that instead of "cannot be damaged."

Good point. It says that shielded units cannot be damaged, therefore you cannot choose them as targets of damage. Maybe thinking "cannot be damaged" actually means "cannot be targeted by framework events or card effects that cause damage" is a more accurate way of thinking.

Thanks for your input.

Good point. It says that shielded units cannot be damaged, therefore you cannot choose them as targets of damage. Maybe thinking "cannot be damaged" actually means "cannot be targeted by framework events or card effects that cause damage" is a more accurate way of thinking.

Thanks for your input.

It's a little more than just not being targetable, but yeah, that's a decent mnemonic.