Vader's Reaction Ability

By Derbes, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Does Vader's reaction ability kick in event if the effort of the cards was cancelled by something, like C-3PO? 3PO says to cancel the effects of the event card, not the event card. So, the event card is basically played without any effect, correct?

Vader's Text:

Reaction: After you play a [sith] event card, deal 1 damage to a target unit. (Limit once per turn.)

C-3PO's Text:

Interrupt: When an event card is played, sacrifice this unit to cancel the effects of that event card.

Yes, it was still played.