Narrow Escape clarification

By Mathblaster, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

For Narrow Escape, the text reads:

Interrupt: When your opponent chooses a single target for a non-capturing card effect, choose a new target for that effect. The new target is chosen as if you executed the effect

Does that mean if my dark side opponent used an event like Force Lightning, I could instead target one of his exhausted units or would I have to target one of my own? Also, does the "as if you executed the effect" part mean that if the card says "target enemy unit" then I would target one of his units?

Thanks! Love this game

1) Yes, you could indeed pick one of his units to Force Lightning. Actually, he could do that himself anyways, though the circumstances where he would want to are rare.

2) Yep, "as if you executed the effect" is there to allow you to flip "target enemy unit" effects back at him.

It really bothers me that this could be used in response to Superlaser Blast. Countering it is fine, but redirecting it? A third of the Light Side's win condition at no more cost than two resources and having the right card in hand at the right time? Broken as hell. The only sane ruling would be to say that since the blast can only be played on "your" turn, when the LS player attempts to resolve it, it fizzles.

It really bothers me that this could be used in response to Superlaser Blast. Countering it is fine, but redirecting it? A third of the Light Side's win condition at no more cost than two resources and having the right card in hand at the right time? Broken as hell. The only sane ruling would be to say that since the blast can only be played on "your" turn, when the LS player attempts to resolve it, it fizzles.

i don't think its quite as bad as you think. there is enough things that need to happen before this situation can commence. you have to have a superlaser blast, your opponent needs to have a narrow escape AND 2 resources open. So, if you see he has 2 resources open and is using the undercover dealings set and you haven't seen a narrow escape come out of his hand or into the discard pile yet, you might want to proceed with caution.

on a slightly related topic, what happens if you try to use it when your opponent plays Succumb to the Cold on a unit that you just refreshed? Does the focus go onto one of their units? or does it do nothing?

on a slightly related topic, what happens if you try to use it when your opponent plays Succumb to the Cold on a unit that you just refreshed? Does the focus go onto one of their units? or does it do nothing?

Succumb doesn't target, so Narrow Escape can't be used.

It really bothers me that this could be used in response to Superlaser Blast. Countering it is fine, but redirecting it? A third of the Light Side's win condition at no more cost than two resources and having the right card in hand at the right time? Broken as hell. The only sane ruling would be to say that since the blast can only be played on "your" turn, when the LS player attempts to resolve it, it fizzles.

I actually think this would be hilarious and wonderfully thematic. Just as the Death Star sets its course to wipe out the rebels once and for all some smugglers change the navigation coordinates and redirect them back to Kuat Drives. They exit hyperspace superlasers ablazing. Oooops. Renegade Squadron enjoys some beers back at the cantina.