Attacking and lost turns

By JimHart, in Talisman Rules Questions

Just began playing Talisman and we're loving it! But I have a question:

The Marsh card is face up on the space. The Priest has landed there and lost a turn. If another character lands there, can they attack the Priest or are they immediately lost (losing their next turn)?

And if they can attack the Priest, do they still lose their next turn since they landed on the Marsh?

Thanks for any clarification y'all can offer.

If the second character chooses to encounter the Priest, he only encounters the character, not the space and thus not the Marsh. You encounter character or space. If you want a thematic reason for why the second character doesn't encounter the Marsh, maybe the Priest dragged himself to the edge just when the other character approached from out the Marsh.

Thanks for the clarification! Much appreciated.