Trying to Understand game basics-Help

By jedi moose, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Sorry for the stupid questions. I've searched forums and rule book and I can't find answers (probably because the questions are too stupid or i missed them somewhere).

1) When a card refers to a "target unit or objective", does that refer only to the enemy units in the engagement, or does it include enemy units not declared as defenders/attackers, or can it refer to my own units/objectives?

2) Depending on the answer to first question: Can a card like Executor's

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/Star-Wars-LCG/news/hoth-cycle/escape-from-hoth/executor.png

be used when defending to attack an enemy objective when its reaction is trigered, or is it only able to attack units since no objective is being declared? (are declared objectives not the same as targeted objectives?)

3) Last one for now. Does the affiliation card do anything other then provide a resource of that affiliation type? Is there any reason why i couldn't select a Jedi affiliation even though i only have 1 jedi objective set in my deck for example (other than bad strategy)?

Thanks for the help. I have ordered my core, etc but haven't actually played yet, so I'm trying to learn as much as i can while I wait for my game. Reading rule/faq, news articles and what cards and text i can find online. I'm sure i will have more questions as i try to learn the game in the weeks to come, but i promise i will always search for answers first, and then will keep what questions I have under this thread if possible. So if you don't want to help, I understand, ignore this thread when you see it at the top of the list. (Not saying that i think any of you wouldn't want to help, just that if you get sick of seeing my stupid questions, ignore me :) ) Thanks again

Edited by jedi moose

1) Unit/objective anywhere, unless it specifically says "participating in the engagement". if the card says "enemy units" that means you cant do it to your own stuff (which are referred to as "friendly"). In the Executor's ability case, you have to poke opposing stuff because of this.

2) Yes, you can use its ability on the defense to poke your opponent's unit/objectives anywhere if it is triggered.

3) No you have it right. It just provides a default resource of that type that can't be killed. The only thing that makes this tricky are objectives that say "X affiliation only", since you cannot use those objectives in you deck if your affiliation isnt the specified type. Its generally a good idea to make your affiliation the faction you have fewer objectives for if possible, since it gaurantees being able to play those cards.

Hi,

This forum is for questions so you've come to the right place. It'll be a bit hard to learn how to play without doing some game simulations, but these questions aren't too bad.

1) Target is a term, I always first consult the index at the back of the rulebook. Target is a term with a definition on page 27. Basically, if the word target is used, it MUST happen. It has nothing to do whether something is participating in an engagement or not.

2) Say Executor is defending. I'm guessing your question pertains to the Reaction. So LS will "sacrifice" a unit, Executor will deal damage to ANY enemy unit or objective you want, other rules permitting. Note that sacrifice is also a special word and is not the same as destroyed.

3) Hida ninja'd in and answered your last one perfectly.

A good rule of thumb for these rules: don't add in your own rules. Follow the cards and rules stubbornly and you'll do just fine. Good luck.

Thanks for the quick and satisfying responses. Hopefully when i actually start playing some of these things will make sense a little quicker. I've never played a card game like this so everything is a little foreign to me, and I don't have any players (I'm a casual gamer with firends) who play this game. So as I try to get people into it I'm going to have to explain stuff like this to them, so i figure i should be certain on the rules.

And its always a little intimidating to jump into a new forum, so thanks for making a guy feel welcome

Thanks for the quick and satisfying responses. Hopefully when i actually start playing some of these things will make sense a little quicker. I've never played a card game like this so everything is a little foreign to me, and I don't have any players (I'm a casual gamer with firends) who play this game. So as I try to get people into it I'm going to have to explain stuff like this to them, so i figure i should be certain on the rules.

And its always a little intimidating to jump into a new forum, so thanks for making a guy feel welcome

No worries, you picked a great game to start with =)

I don't know if you've already seen it, but FFG has an excellent video tutorial for the game posted on the support page and YouTube.

I don't know if you've already seen it, but FFG has an excellent video tutorial for the game posted on the support page and YouTube.

Yeah i've watched it twice. It does help get the general concept of the game in my head. But of course it only covers a few cards and their text so their are plenty of things that I'm still unsure about as i look at other cards that aren't covered in the video. I'll probably watch that video again though once i start to play to see if I'm doing it right. Thanks

The rule book really helps a lot in the section that discusses what the terms used in the game means. There's also the FAQ and this forum. Welcome to our community and have fun playing!

Assassin Droid
Neutral / Unit
4 Resources / 2 Force Icons
2 Black Blasters
Droid. Assassin .
Reaction: After this unit destroys an enemy unit, remove 1 focus token from this unit.
2 Health

1) So if i focus to attack with assassin droid, destroy an enemy unit and remove the focus, any reason i can't attack again with this droid in this engagement?

2) Am i required to focus this unit to attack again since all units in an engagement have to focus to strike, or has that requirement been fulfilled by the first strike?

Thanks

During an engagement, each player alternativly focus a ready participating unit to strike until every participating unit is exhausted

If Assassin Droid is ready again after destroying an enemy unit, its focus being removed, it must be focused to strike again.

An engagement ends only when every participating unit are exhausted, and no action/reaction interfere (as Assassin Droid reaction's does).

Yes, if LS player Attack with 10 unit with 2 PV and 1 blast icons, you can défend with Assassin Droid and kill every one of them. But as you alternatively strike, your opponent would have destroyed an objective (opponent focus 1 unit to blast 1 on your objective, you kill 1 of his remaining ready unit, repeat 5 times, then kill all it´s exhausted unit after losing your 5 damage capacity objective)

Edited by Caal-FR
2) Am i required to focus this unit to attack again since all units in an engagement have to focus to strike, or has that requirement been fulfilled by the first strike?

Thanks

It's a common misconception as people are learning that game that the requirement is that each unit must be focused to strike (and once it has done that, it doesn't have to again). The actual requirement is that all units be exhausted before moving from the Resolve Strikes step to the Reward Unopposed step.

To actually answer the question, as Caal-FR said: yes, the Assassin Droid does have to strike again in the same engagement if you choose to use its reaction. You could always not use the reaction and not strike again if you really wanted to.

Great. Thank you for the clarification