Confronting the Terror and excess damage

By theChony, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hi all,

ffg_confronting-the-terror-assault-on-ec

Say I play this card as LS when I'm about to take 4 damage. Now DS "must divide that damage among any number of units and objectives he controls" .

Why can't the DS legally place all 4 of that damage on say a Rebel Trooper peon trooper? The 3 excess damage would be ignored according to the only rules I can find about this on the bottom of page 21.

I know this can't be the card's intention with the high cost of 3, but currently, I can't legally say this is not allowed. That word "divide" must be key here. What am I missing?

Edited by theChony

I think it's along the same lines as the rules for Protect - you can't voluntarily assign damage to something in excess of its damage capacity.

I think it's along the same lines as the rules for Protect - you can't voluntarily assign damage to something in excess of its damage capacity.

The only problem is that the rules for Protect specify that. This card does not.

Got Nate to fill in this one:

¨The excess damage is ignored with regard to how much damage is being assigned to that particular unit. However, the excess damage does not "disappear," and if you are able to divide the damage elsewhere, you must do so to fulfill the obligation of the card.¨

Not very pretty rules wise, but at least it´s official.