Character control issue

By punkphloyd, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hi guys,

My friends were playing a game and a ruling issue came up. Bob was a Stark Bolton theme deck, Dave was Targaryen Dragons deck.

Early in the game Bob used Reek to take control of Dave's Viserion. A few rounds later Dave wanted to play Viserion in marshalling. What's the rule here? Can Dave bring in Viserion even though Bob controls a copy? I've only been aware of the character being dead stopping any others from being brought in.

Thanks!

If a unique character you own is controlled by the opponent, you cannot bring another into play. This is specifically addressed in the FAQ

(3.29) Unique Cards and Changing Control
You may not play, put into play, or take control of a unique card already in play that you own or control (except for putting a duplicate on a card that you own and control), or that is in your dead pile.
Thus you cannot take control of a unique character that you already have in play. You cannot play a unique card if your opponent has taken control of another copy of that unique card that you own.
Duplicates can only be played or put into play on cards you own and control.
Edited by -Istaril