Semi-newbie question regarding companions in battle

By dmadn, in War of the Ring

I've now played WOTR three times, but still have a question regarding companions.

If a companion (separated from the Fellowship) is in a territory also occupied by a Free People's army, and that territory is attacked by a Shadow Army, is the companion required to participate in the battle? Or, can the Free People's player declare that the companion is not participating in the battle, and instead "laying low," forgoing their leadership benefit of course?

Thanks!
Dave

Per the FAQ (found here: www.warofthering.webb.se/ ), when a Character is in the same Region with a friendly Army, he automatically becomes a Leader of that Army. As such, if the Army is attacked, the Character will fight with the Army and share its fate.

Thank you WarDog ;) !!