Two (probably simple) new player questions

By Two_Hands, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

1. When playing a card which can be played "into the shadows", do you HAVE to do that? Could you simply play it normally in the marshalling phase (essentially for two gold less)?

2. There are two different "Grey Wind" cards; one is an attachment and one is a character. I understand that you can only have three cards with the same name (so I couldn't have three of each) but if I have one of each type, what happens? If I play the character first, does the attachment count as a duplicate? What if I played the attachment first then the character later?

  1. Cards with the Shadow crest must be marshalled into shadows, they cannot be played directly (however, they can be put into play directly). This is written in the rules insert that comes with every chapter pack and has been appended to the FAQ.