Chewy Protect + actions question

By Bazeleel, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I want to make sure I am reading this rule correctly.

Rule 4.3 in the FAQ

(4.3) Moving Damage
Moving damage is not considered dealing damage.
However, the unit that receives the moved damage is
still considered to have been “damaged.” (For example,
a unit with “Protect Character” can be used to absorb
damage that is being moved to another Character unit.)
Chewy is still able to use his effect if he protects the damage correct?

Regarding Chewie using "Protect", yes.

I want to make sure I am reading this rule correctly.

Rule 4.3 in the FAQ

(4.3) Moving Damage
Moving damage is not considered dealing damage.
However, the unit that receives the moved damage is
still considered to have been “damaged.” (For example,
a unit with “Protect Character” can be used to absorb
damage that is being moved to another Character unit.)
Chewy is still able to use his effect if he protects the damage correct?

his reaction only works DURING any engagement, even one he is not involved in. so as long as the damage he takes is during an engagement, then yes his reaction can go off, and it can only affect units participating in the engagement.

I want to make sure I am reading this rule correctly.

Rule 4.3 in the FAQ

(4.3) Moving Damage
Moving damage is not considered dealing damage.
However, the unit that receives the moved damage is
still considered to have been “damaged.” (For example,
a unit with “Protect Character” can be used to absorb
damage that is being moved to another Character unit.)
Chewy is still able to use his effect if he protects the damage correct?

his reaction only works DURING any engagement, even one he is not involved in. so as long as the damage he takes is during an engagement, then yes his reaction can go off, and it can only affect units participating in the engagement.

Yes I understand how it works....I am asking if this rule still triggers it because of how the rule is worded.

If he sustains damage during an engagement, his reaction goes off. it doesn't matter if he protects and sustain damage, if a unit directly attacks him, or if a sith player is dumb enough to use a force choke during an engagement that doesn't kill him, then he retaliates with his reaction.

what situations do we have that damage can be "moved" currently? i'm trying to think of some but it happens to be late and none are coming to mind

Edited by bobafett012

Its an excellent question. Assuming both of the following happen during an engagement, here's how I'd rule on it:

If the damage was dealt to someone, and Chewbacca protects for 2 damage say, then that dealt damage is assigned to Chewbacca and he is dealt damage. Therefore his reaction kicks in.

If instead that two damage is being "moved" to someone (ie not dealt), and Chewbacca protects for 2 of that damage say, than that moved damage is assigned to him ... but the damage is moved to him, it's not dealt to him, as per the rule you've quoted above. Therefore his reaction wouldn't kick in.

Edited by PBrennan

Its an excellent question. Assuming both of the following happen during an engagement, here's how I'd rule on it:

If the damage was dealt to someone, and Chewbacca protects for 2 damage say, then that dealt damage is assigned to Chewbacca and he is dealt damage. Therefore his reaction kicks in.

If instead that two damage is being "moved" to someone (ie not dealt), and Chewbacca protects for 2 of that damage say, than that moved damage is assigned to him ... but the damage is moved to him, it's not dealt to him, as per the rule you've quoted above. Therefore his reaction wouldn't kick in.

Awesome thank you that clears it up.

In other words, during an engagement you can Desolation of Hoth (move damage) targeting Chewbacca and he won't get to react, correct?

Edited by Holliday88

what situations do we have that damage can be "moved" currently? i'm trying to think of some but it happens to be late and none are coming to mind

Questionable Contacts

Edited by Toqtamish

In other words, during an engagement you can Desolation of Hoth (move damage) targeting Chewbacca and he won't get to react, correct?

If it's enough to kill him, yes.

In other words, during an engagement you can Desolation of Hoth (move damage) targeting Chewbacca and he won't get to react, correct?

If it's enough to kill him, yes.

your saying the opposite of PBrennan.

He is saying since the ruling is that moving damage is not the same as dealing damage, and chewys reaction specifically says dealt damage, he would not react. I'm not sure on this, it would be a good question to send into FFG to get a ruling on.

In other words, during an engagement you can Desolation of Hoth (move damage) targeting Chewbacca and he won't get to react, correct?

If it's enough to kill him, yes.

your saying the opposite of PBrennan.

He is saying since the ruling is that moving damage is not the same as dealing damage, and chewys reaction specifically says dealt damage, he would not react. I'm not sure on this, it would be a good question to send into FFG to get a ruling on.

Does it specifically say "move" on DoH? My bad. Not sure how this would work, then. Though if it is enough to kill Chewie, then it doesn't matter, does it? He dies before he has the chance to initiate his reaction.

In other words, during an engagement you can Desolation of Hoth (move damage) targeting Chewbacca and he won't get to react, correct?

If it's enough to kill him, yes.

your saying the opposite of PBrennan.

He is saying since the ruling is that moving damage is not the same as dealing damage, and chewys reaction specifically says dealt damage, he would not react. I'm not sure on this, it would be a good question to send into FFG to get a ruling on.

Does it specifically say "move" on DoH? My bad. Not sure how this would work, then. Though if it is enough to kill Chewie, then it doesn't matter, does it? He dies before he has the chance to initiate his reaction.

Yes, DOH says move damage. But if it's not enough to kill him, say it only puts 2 on him. Therefore, the next damage he takes, he can't use his reaction either, since he'll be dead. Of course this is assuming he doesn't have Ben's Spirit, armor or anything else that increases his damage capacity.

In other words, during an engagement you can Desolation of Hoth (move damage) targeting Chewbacca and he won't get to react, correct?

If it's enough to kill him, yes.

your saying the opposite of PBrennan.

He is saying since the ruling is that moving damage is not the same as dealing damage, and chewys reaction specifically says dealt damage, he would not react. I'm not sure on this, it would be a good question to send into FFG to get a ruling on.

Does it specifically say "move" on DoH? My bad. Not sure how this would work, then. Though if it is enough to kill Chewie, then it doesn't matter, does it? He dies before he has the chance to initiate his reaction.

Yes, DOH says move damage. But if it's not enough to kill him, say it only puts 2 on him. Therefore, the next damage he takes, he can't use his reaction either, since he'll be dead. Of course this is assuming he doesn't have Ben's Spirit, armor or anything else that increases his damage capacity.

Of course, if he's got OBS and 2 damage already, he can't do more than 2 damage with his reaction (1 remaining damage capacity) since anything over what would destroy the unit is ignored when damage is dealt.

Does it specifically say "move" on DoH? My bad. Not sure how this would work, then. Though if it is enough to kill Chewie, then it doesn't matter, does it? He dies before he has the chance to initiate his reaction.

sure it can matter because there could be other protectors out. I also noticed LS deflection wouldn't work on DoH since it is also when dealt damage. so I suppose there is some definite distinction between moving and dealing damage.