Kingdom Locations in Neutral Faction

By lahomen, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

  • Name: Norvos
  • Expansion set: Valar Dohaeris
  • Type: Location
  • Cost: 1
  • Affiliations(s): Stark , Lannister , Baratheon , Greyjoy , Targaryen , Martell
  • Trait(s): Free Cities, Kingdom
  • Text:

    Free Cities, Kingdom Lower the cost of the first out-of-House ico_martell.png card you play each round by 1. Lower the cost of the first Lord character you play each round by 1.

I'm running Neutral Faction. Location should cost 3 with OOH penalty. Does it automatically lower the cost of itself?

No - the lowering effect won't be available until the card is in play (after you've paid for it).

However, it will use itself up once you play it because it will become the first OOH Martell card played by you that round. You'll need to wait until the next round before it becomes useful.

Edited by Bomb

Thanks guys, just making sure.

The Kingdom locations are affiliated with all houses, but not neutral faction :(

Does this mean that when you play one of these Kingdom cards, you are playing the first OOH card for all houses - and thus neutralising any other Kindoms you may have in play already

Couple of quickies:

Are cards with the same title considered the same card - i.e. there are two very different Norvos and Penton cards

I assume I cannot have both in play at the same time

Do you have "in house" cards if you are playing Neutral Faction - i.e. search for an in-house location etc.

Can you claim bi-house characters as being out of house - i.e. if I am Baratheon house and have Braavos (Lower the cost of the first out-of-House [stark] card you play each round by 1.), can I play Brienne and reduce the cost by 2 (Stark / Lady)

The Kingdom locations are affiliated with all houses, but not neutral faction :(

Does this mean that when you play one of these Kingdom cards, you are playing the first OOH card for all houses - and thus neutralising any other Kindoms you may have in play already

Couple of quickies:

Are cards with the same title considered the same card - i.e. there are two very different Norvos and Penton cards

I assume I cannot have both in play at the same time

Do you have "in house" cards if you are playing Neutral Faction - i.e. search for an in-house location etc.

Can you claim bi-house characters as being out of house - i.e. if I am Baratheon house and have Braavos (Lower the cost of the first out-of-House [stark] card you play each round by 1.), can I play Brienne and reduce the cost by 2 (Stark / Lady)

Yes, playing a Kingdom you're playing the first OOH card for all houses if you're playing out of neutral.

Same title: It depends on the effect (and the card type, I think there's a plot that shared a name with an event at one point in the game's history). If they have the same title and are unique, one can act as a duplicate for the other even if the cards are not identical.

You have no In-House cards if you're playing Neutral House Card. You won't get any mileage out of "Spending the Winter Stores".

The last question was one that confused me for a while (there's forum evidence a year or so back of Ktom explaining it to me in detail, I'll see if I can hunt it down). Out of house means that it shares no affiliations with yours, so if you're running Bravos out of Baratheon, it'll only reduce Brienne by 1 (Lady) and not 2 (Stark/Lady).

Same title: It depends on the effect (and the card type, I think there's a plot that shared a name with an event at one point in the game's history). If they have the same title and are unique, one can act as a duplicate for the other even if the cards are not identical.

I'm a little confused by this answer, so in the interest of clarity, the full rules are:

1. You can only have 3 copies of any card by title in your draw deck. So, no matter what anything else on the card is, you can only have 3 with the same name in your draw deck.

2. The plot deck is obviously not part of the "three by title in draw deck" limit since the plot deck is separate from the draw deck.

3. The rules for unique cards are applied by title , without regards to any other card type or characteristic.

The last question was one that confused me for a while (there's forum evidence a year or so back of Ktom explaining it to me in detail, I'll see if I can hunt it down). Out of house means that it shares no affiliations with yours, so if you're running Bravos out of Baratheon, it'll only reduce Brienne by 1 (Lady) and not 2 (Stark/Lady).

The long and short of it is that if it has a matching House affiliation, it can never be considered out-of-House, no matter what other affiliations it might also have.

On the discussion of the Kingdom locations, that would mean that (say in an Alliance deck of Lannister naming Martell) you can play a kingdom (we'll say Norvos) and it won't use itself up, as it isn't considered out of house if you are running any non Neutral Faction house card. Then you can play an actual out of house card (let's say The Red Viper in my scenario) and it will get the out of house reduction, agreed?

Yep. In TRV's case, you'll also get the reduction for playing your first Lord .

Each of the House mottoes (and some other cards) has existed both as a plot and an event, though they could only mix in legacy. The only cards with the same title, but different types in the LCG are the Direwolf characters/attachments (though we're still missing a character version of Nymeria and attachment versions of Lady and Ghost).