Reaction Questions

By KennedyHawk2, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Couldnt find this in the instructions (I'm just playing my second game so definitly learning).

When I have a card with a reaction am I forced to play it when the triggering condition happens the text in the manual for interupt seems to state you choose but the reaction didn't give a clear explination.

Card in question is:

Defense Protocol Pod 30 1 of 6.

Reaction: After your draw phase begins reduce your reserve value by 1 to deal 1 damage to a target unit.

If there are no target units I don't want to use this but am I forced too?

Thanks

Couldnt find this in the instructions (I'm just playing my second game so definitly learning).

When I have a card with a reaction am I forced to play it when the triggering condition happens the text in the manual for interupt seems to state you choose but the reaction didn't give a clear explination.

Card in question is:

Defense Protocol Pod 30 1 of 6.

Reaction: After your draw phase begins reduce your reserve value by 1 to deal 1 damage to a target unit.

If there are no target units I don't want to use this but am I forced too?

Thanks

no, the only time you are forced to do a reaction is if the card actually says "forced reaction", which there are a few. so as long as it doesn't say forced, you are free to choose to or not to utilize your reactions.