Exhausted units with card effects

By Darth Zilla, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hey everyone I have two questions that have come up:

1) if a card effect is executed but that card cannot focus to strike do they still get focused at the end of the engagement? example: I move the ewok into an engagement and prevent my oppenent from defending with a particular unit. I loose the edge battle so I cannot focus the ewok to strike. Does the ewok still get focused because I used his card effect to keep someone out of the engagement?

2) can an exhausted unit still execute one of their card effects? example: I use Jedi mind trick on the Ice Trompeter to place a focus token on it. Can my opponent still execute the card effect to remove somone from an engagement and deal one damage even though the unit is now concidered exhausted?

1) If the Ewok is in an engagement, he must focus to strike, regardless of whether anyone else is in the engagement, or whether they have any active icons or not. This has nothing to do with his ability, since it does not require you to focus him to trigger it.

2) Yes. As long as the ability to be triggered doesn't require the unit to focus as part of the cost (Jabba's "focus this unit to put..." is such an example of the kind of ability you cannot trigger if a unit/objective already has one or more focus tokens on it), you can still trigger it... so, your opponent is more than welcome to sacrifice the focused tromper to remove your non- vehicle from the engagement and damage it.

Edited by stormwolf27

1) Units w/Edge-only icons still have to be Focused to Strike during the engagement. They just have no effect. It has nothing to do w/using the ability printed on his card.

2) The answer to your example question is yes. Read the description for Exhausted on pg 27 of the rulebook.

Thank you -

I'm new to LGC games - love it so far.

I guess when I read the rules and it said "must focus to strike" I interpreted that as - if they are able to strike they must strike (able being the key word). I guess that was the wrong interpretation - thanks for clairifing that as well.

Thank you -

I'm new to LGC games - love it so far.

I guess when I read the rules and it said "must focus to strike" I interpreted that as - if they are able to strike they must strike (able being the key word). I guess that was the wrong interpretation - thanks for clairifing that as well.

Well, that is right. If they are in battle, they must focus to strike even if they do nothing. However, the actions on the cards only require you to activate them. Unless they say, "Focus this unit to..." the action can be performed when it says to and for free (unless it lists a cost, like 'Pay one resourse to...').

And "loose" is spelt "lose" if you wish to appear literate :-)

^Ah, sweet delicious irony.

"Spelt" is spelled "spelled," Captain Literacy. :P

Either way is acceptable, and in my country spelt is the more common usage. So, all good.

Either way is acceptable, and in my country spelt is the more common usage. So, all good.

What country are you in?

Australia. Which uses British English. When I'm editing, I need to be very careful of honor vs honour, color vs colour, armor vs armour and the like. And I was trying to be nice about it above, not snarky.

Australia. Which uses British English. When I'm editing, I need to be very careful of honor vs honour, color vs colour, armor vs armour and the like. And I was trying to be nice about it above, not snarky.

Armour looks more agressive! nice.

Australia. Which uses British English. When I'm editing, I need to be very careful of honor vs honour, color vs colour, armor vs armour and the like. And I was trying to be nice about it above, not snarky.

In Canada we also use British English so I would spell words same way you do and also some words and even letters sound different, for example Z is pronounced "zed" not "zee"

it's still funny to hear someone say "Aluminium." Where does the extra "I" come from?

it's still funny to hear someone say "Aluminium." Where does the extra "I" come from?

From the people who invented English.

Also, I'm in Canada but we use 'spelt' as a flour-ish thing. A type of wheat.

I also use the correct spelling of armour, favour, etc. :)

If something prevents a card from focusing, it wouldn't get focus token just from being in a battle at the end.

However, I don't remember any ewok card that can't focus if loses edge.

I was just referring to the Ewok scout that has an "edge enabled" blaster icon. If I lose the edge battle then the ewok's blaster cannot strike. My original question was, because the ewok doesn't have an icon that can be used, would he still have to be focused to strike. I found the answer to be yes he still must focus to strike. Thank you everyone

follow up question: If I have a unit in an engagement that gets focused, as a result of an enemy icon, does that unit still have to focus to strike even though it's already focused. ex. I have Yoda in an engagement (committed to the force) facing off against the Emperor. I loose the edge battle so the Emperor places one of his focus tokens on Yoda. Do I then have to place two additional focus tokens on Yoda because I have to focus him to strike and he's committed to the force (even though at that point he's already focused)?

When I read the rules on pg 22 it states that each remaining ready unit focuses to strike even if they cannot inflict any damage.

Reading that I'm assuming the answer to be - no - Yoda would not focus because he's no longer "ready" (as it was put in the rule book).

Am I correct in my understanding?

You're correct in your understanding.

The trick is to be mindful of the term focused ... a unit can only be focused if its ready, not if If it already has focus tokens on it.

(Oh, and loose is spelt lose).

You're correct in your understanding.

The trick is to be mindful of the term focused ... a unit can only be focused if its ready, not if If it already has focus tokens on it.

(Oh, and loose is spelt lose).

lol - thanks for making me feel like an idiot. just kidding. I know - I can't believe I made that mistake. Thanks for clarifying on the focus icons. I appreaciate it.

Edited by Darth Zilla

No probs :-)

follow up question: If I have a unit in an engagement that gets focused, as a result of an enemy icon, does that unit still have to focus to strike even though it's already focused. ex. I have Yoda in an engagement (committed to the force) facing off against the Emperor. I loose the edge battle so the Emperor places one of his focus tokens on Yoda. Do I then have to place two additional focus tokens on Yoda because I have to focus him to strike and he's committed to the force (even though at that point he's already focused)?

If Yoda was focused before he could strike, then he cannot focus to strike.

You can only focus to strike with a unit that is ready, i.e. not exhausted. Yoda had a focus token placed on him and is therefore now exhausted.

Page 10 of the rulebook makes explicit the rules on focus.

To summarize, all units in an engagement must be exhausted before the engagement ends. The normal way that happens is for them to focus to strike, even if they strike to no effect. A unit that is already exhausted (for whatever reason, be it tactics or another card effect) cannot focus to strike since focusing to strike requires the unit to be ready.

Edited by AntaresCD