Some Questions from EoD

By Crouton, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

1. If I move a captured card with Carbonite Transport's ability to Hunt for Han Solo, does Hunt's ability trigger? Right now, I lean yes.

2. A Hero's Journey is damaged by 1--->Moisture farmer protects--->Guardian of Peace protects Moisture farmer (or Wookie protects if Life Debt is in play). Is this play legal? Again, I lean yes.

3. Does Across the Jundland Waste stack if you have 2 in play. So a unit striking would have to place 3 focus tokens (1 for the strike and 2 for 2x Jundalnd Waste)? I'm 99% yes, but there is still a lingering 1% doubt.

Thanks

Edited by Crouton

1) no. Moving is not capturing

2) yes

3) yes

1) no. Moving is not capturing

do we have confirmation on this one, because i am not so sure about this one either? the objective does not say "when you capture a unit from play at this objective", as other objectives and cards specify (bespin exchange, bounty collection), so if you move a captive from tatooine crash to the hunt for solo, it would then be captured at the hunt for solo.

i already emailed FFG late last week about this but they have not answered me as of yet.

Edited by bobafett012

The card is now captured at Hunt for Solo, but you did not capture it there.

Some effects only trigger on capturing from play and thus would not trigger with effects that capture from other locations (such as the Z-95 capturing from hand). Hunt for Solo does work with the Z-95s, but does not trigger when Carbonite Transport moves an already captured card there.

My thinking centered around what the FAQ said on moving damage. From the FAQ, it says under Moving Damage:

"Moving damage isn't the same as dealing damage. However, the unit that receives the moved damage is still considered to have been 'damaged.'" Therefore, guardians can still use their shield to absorb the damage.

So...moving a captured card isn't the same as capturing a card. However, the objective that receives the moved card is still considered to have "captured" it.

Again, I'd love to have an official ruling on this.

1. Moving a captured card is not the same as capturing. Only cards the specifically say to "Capture" something are considered to be capturing a card.

2. You can protect a protector. This is a nice catch because I never thought of it, makes the moisture farmers a little better.

3. Yes, each Jundland Waste will trigger when a focus token is placed when the unit strikes.

1) no. Moving is not capturing

do we have confirmation on this one, because i am not so sure about this one either? the objective does not say "when you capture a unit from play at this objective", as other objectives and cards specify (bespin exchange, bounty collection), so if you move a captive from tatooine crash to the hunt for solo, it would then be captured at the hunt for solo.

i already emailed FFG late last week about this but they have not answered me as of yet.

I also don't believe moving a captured card will satisfy Hunt's "After you capture a card a unit card at this objective..." .

From page 26 of the rulebook:

"A captured card has no characteristics, and is considered solely a captured card until rescued or discarded."

So if you follow the rules, a previously captured card is no longer has a type, so it is not a unit, so you wouldn't be able to use Hunt's ability anyway.

here is the email response from FFG:

Moving a captured card is not the same thing as capturing a card. So the captured card that is moved to a new objective is not considered "captured" a second time. (It has only been moved.) So you could not trigger "after you capture" type reactions when a card has only been moved.

Nate French

Senior LCG Designer

Fantasy Flight Games

Edited by bobafett012