The Shadow of Nar Shaddaa

By magni2, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Action: Focus this objective with 2 focus tokens to place 1 focus token on a target attacking unit.

can i keep doing this? untill i have 60 focus?

Nope, you cannot use abilities that require you to focus a card if that card is exhausted.

From the rulebook, page 10, under "A Matter of Focus," the 4th paragraph reads: "A card with one or more focus tokens is considered Exhausted. A player cannot focus an exhausted card."

The cost of the objective effect is, "Focus this objective with 2 focus tokens to..." Since you are focusing the objective, it must be ready to trigger this cost. If it is exhausted, you cannot focus it to pay the cost, and therefore cannot trigger the effect.

This would apply to jabba to correct?

This would apply to jabba to correct?

It applies to any card with an ability that has focusing something as a cost, including Jabba. You can only "focus" a card that is not already exhausted.

Keep in mind that "focus this unit/objective/etc" is different than "place a focus token on this unit". The latter would allow you to trigger the ability even if it has focus token(s) already.

Keep in mind that "focus this unit/objective/etc" is different than "place a focus token on this unit". The latter would allow you to trigger the ability even if it has focus token(s) already.

no, no, no, no, no, no. From the core book:

A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus

tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects,

cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources.

However, other card abilities of an exhausted card

may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any)

are still active, as long as such abilities do not require

the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise

prohibited by the card text.

When a card says to "place a focus token on [this unit] to do x ," it is the same thing as "focus [this unit] to do x ." If it already has a focus token, the only thing that can put another focus on the same unit is tactics icons from your opponent, or events.

Keep in mind that "focus this unit/objective/etc" is different than "place a focus token on this unit". The latter would allow you to trigger the ability even if it has focus token(s) already.

no, no, no, no, no, no. From the core book:

A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus

tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects,

cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources.

However, other card abilities of an exhausted card

may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any)

are still active, as long as such abilities do not require

the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise

prohibited by the card text.

When a card says to "place a focus token on [this unit] to do x ," it is the same thing as "focus [this unit] to do x ." If it already has a focus token, the only thing that can put another focus on the same unit is tactics icons from your opponent, or events.

After a search I cannot find any card text that says "Place a focus token on [this unit] to [do something] ". The wording "place a focus token" seems to be used exclusively in the context of adding tokens to a card without triggering any effects other than exhausting the card or adding additional focus tokens to it - as in resolving a tactics icon or using card effects like "Jedi Mind Trick" or "I'm On the Leader". So in reality it's a bit of a moot point, and I'd have to agree with wishasc that "focusing" is different from "placing a focus token". I think we'd all agree that placing a token from a tactics icon on another unit in the engagement would not count as "focusing to strike" and allow the owner to resolve the combat icons.

If there was a card that said "Place a focus token on [this unit] to [do something] ", I'd be with Stormwolf.

Keep in mind that "focus this unit/objective/etc" is different than "place a focus token on this unit". The latter would allow you to trigger the ability even if it has focus token(s) already.

no, no, no, no, no, no. From the core book:

A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus

tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects,

cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources.

However, other card abilities of an exhausted card

may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any)

are still active, as long as such abilities do not require

the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise

prohibited by the card text.

When a card says to "place a focus token on [this unit] to do x ," it is the same thing as "focus [this unit] to do x ." If it already has a focus token, the only thing that can put another focus on the same unit is tactics icons from your opponent, or events.

After a search I cannot find any card text that says "Place a focus token on [this unit] to [do something] ". The wording "place a focus token" seems to be used exclusively in the context of adding tokens to a card without triggering any effects other than exhausting the card or adding additional focus tokens to it - as in resolving a tactics icon or using card effects like "Jedi Mind Trick" or "I'm On the Leader". So in reality it's a bit of a moot point, and I'd have to agree with wishasc that "focusing" is different from "placing a focus token". I think we'd all agree that placing a token from a tactics icon on another unit in the engagement would not count as "focusing to strike" and allow the owner to resolve the combat icons.

If there was a card that said "Place a focus token on [this unit] to [do something] ", I'd be with Stormwolf.

but that's what I'm saying.

Cards like Jedi Mind Trick and I'm on The Leader (events, like I stated in my post) are one of only two ways for a unit to have any amount of focus placed on it when it's already exhausted.

Anything that requires you to focus or place a focus on a unit/objective to perform an action cannot be done if they already have one or more focus on them. Period.

Think you guys are saying the same thing.

"Focus this unit/objective/enhancement/banana to do a somersault," means the thing you are putting the focus on must be currently unfocused.

"Place a focus token on..." does not require an unfocused card, as you are just placing one on and not triggering anything. This is usually bad, often done by your opponent to you.

Keep in mind that "focus this unit/objective/etc" is different than "place a focus token on this unit". The latter would allow you to trigger the ability even if it has focus token(s) already.

no, no, no, no, no, no. From the core book:

A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus

tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects,

cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources.

However, other card abilities of an exhausted card

may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any)

are still active, as long as such abilities do not require

the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise

prohibited by the card text.

When a card says to "place a focus token on [this unit] to do x ," it is the same thing as "focus [this unit] to do x ." If it already has a focus token, the only thing that can put another focus on the same unit is tactics icons from your opponent, or events.

Wow, I guess I was mistaken six times times times times times times.

I was trying to make the point that you could use a number of cards that place a focus token on something, even though it is already focused/exhausted.

Keep in mind that "focus this unit/objective/etc" is different than "place a focus token on this unit". The latter would allow you to trigger the ability even if it has focus token(s) already.

no, no, no, no, no, no. From the core book:

A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus

tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects,

cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources.

However, other card abilities of an exhausted card

may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any)

are still active, as long as such abilities do not require

the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise

prohibited by the card text.

When a card says to "place a focus token on [this unit] to do x ," it is the same thing as "focus [this unit] to do x ." If it already has a focus token, the only thing that can put another focus on the same unit is tactics icons from your opponent, or events.

Wow, I guess I was mistaken six times times times times times times.

I was trying to make the point that you could use a number of cards that place a focus token on something, even though it is already focused/exhausted.

well, the OP was asking if you could place focus on your own units/objectives to perform an action. I believe, from that response, you were referring to being able to successfully resolve an ability that places one or more focus on an enemy unit.

If so, you are correct. But, bear in mind, this is only possible if the effect causes it, and not if it triggers the effect.