C3P0 ability

By Ezmoraz, in Star Wars: The Card Game

Hi i was playing with a fried yesterday and i was wondering something about C3P0

My friend used the ability Force choke on one of my character he tryed to force me to sacrifice C3P0.

But that what we were wondering since c3p0 ability say "wHEN AN EVENT CARD IS PLAYED, SACRIFICE THIS UNIT TO CANCEL THE EFFECTS OF THAT EVENT CARD"

When my friend playing a event card when C3PO is on the play field i'm i forced to sacrifice him or i can wait for another event that my friend will play later in the game ?

It is your card you choose when to sacrifice it. C3-PO reaction does not say Forced.

Ok i was wondering cause since i was playing magic the gathering before the rules was if a card was saying "you may" it was our choice if not we were forced to use the ability.But i'm happy to know that i can choose tyo sacrifice him or not.Maybe i have'nt played enough but i think c3po is a good interrupt card then :)

ty for the fast answer

Yeah, all Action, Reaction, and Interrupt abilities are optional unless they're preceeded by "Forced." See the Rancor for an example. Constant abilities are not optional unless "may" is used, though I can't think of an example of that off the top of my head.

c3p0 gets confusing when you factor in vader, i still have no idea when the dmg is triggered for vaders ability - c3p0 cancels then they can still dmg the target oy

It is not really that confusing. Threepio just cancels the effect of the card, the card was still played and Vader's reaction will still happen afterwards.

Yeah, interrupts... interrupt the triggering event, whereas reactions don't start until it finishes. So it can go...

1. DS plays choke

2. LS triggers 3PO's interrupt, sacrificing 3PO to cancel the choke's effect (but the choke is still considered to have been played, so...)

3. DS triggers Vader's reaction to damage a LS unit of his choice

OR

1. DS plays choke

2. LS chooses not to (or forgets to) trigger 3PO's interrupt, keeping 3PO and letting the target die

3. DS triggers Vader's reaction to damage a LS unit of his choice (including 3PO!)

Either way, Vader's reaction triggers and DS gets to decide where the damage goes AFTER seeing what happened with 3PO and the choke. Incidentally, stopping chokes is pretty much what 3PO is there for. You may not be forced into it, but it's almost always in your best interest.