If you were to pay 15 gold and lose 5 turns to gain strength/craft and an earthquake destroys it or the Acedemy is displaced or destructed by destruction spell during those 5 turns. Would you not be able to claim your strength/craft because it doesnt exist anymore for you to continue training?
The Academy and Earthquake
Don't know about rulewise, but thematically, I can totally see them pocketing your money, then hightailing out of town in the confusion of the Earthquake, no refunds
. Probably you lose any outstanding benefits that you have paid for.
Mmm,
I play that if you give the academy 3 gold, you receive a strenght or craft and then you must lose your next turn.( meaning of the card i think..?).
If a earthquake shows up and the academy must be discarded, i should say that you must still lose your turns that you paid for...
Good Question
There are four of us that play. Usually it is a 3 to 1 vote in making a ruling, but this has us at a 2 to 2 standing.
Here is the play as it happened:
The Ghoul landed on The Acedemy and paid 15 gold and took 3 strength and 2 craft immediatly. Then after missing two of his five lost turns, the Minstrel drew the Earthquake and The Acedemy was reduced to rubble (and has it so happened it was the only card to be destroyed HAHA) Now my one friend stated that because it was destroyed that I should put back 3 of the Ghoul's attributes (my choice he said, mighty white of him) and that I wouldnt get my money back because it is tuition and is non refundable. This was not what the Ghoul wanted to here. Thankfully my other friend felt sorry for the Ghoul and took his side on the matter ( a rarity) The other friend took my other friends side and it was a evil debate that lasted a good twenty-thirity minutes ending with a very ticked off Ghoul giving up 2 craft and 1 strength just to end the debate and commense play. Which afterwards the Ghoul tried to land on as many people as he could and drain them of there lives and ended up winning HA!
Who was right in this? Hopefully I am right, becuase then I get to start off with whatever character I want and get to use those 2 craft and 1 strength to start with. If I am wrong then I will have to play the Priest three games in a row.
Help me Obi Wan Kenobi, your my only hope
I have a similar doubt about the Academy: if a Character attacks you while at the Academy, can you consider the extra Strength/Craft gained in your training?
Thematically, I would say that to gain a point you have to pay and miss the next Turn. It's a training and you're asked to pay in advance. By card wording and from the exclusive perpective of gameplay, the two conditions are met when a Character makes the choice, then he should be able to gain the point/s also if the Academy is wiped out in the meantime. He still can miss the Turns and pay for training.
I think that to sort any problem with this card we should pose the Following question:
Q: When exactly does a Character receive the Strength/Craft for which he pays and misses Turns at the Academy?
First of all: can you pay for more then one lesson (one turn)? In other words: Can you learn more than one point of strength/craft per one visit (the same question for "instructor" card)?
8janek8 said:
First of all: can you pay for more then one lesson (one turn)? In other words: Can you learn more than one point of strength/craft per one visit (the same question for "instructor" card)?
If you read the instructor card, then it is possible. If you have enough money, then you can pay more lessons from him.
Okay! It seems that we have come to an impass here with no difinitive answer. Since two of you seem to agree that I would receive my strength and craft though I still miss my turns and lose my gold . I will try and put it past my gaming buds. But one of you thinks I should lose all of it. Which means that there isnt an answer without debate. GOD cant any of these questions just be answered easily...HAHAHA. So I will just ask this.
Q: When exactly does a Character receive the Strength/Craft for which he pays and misses Turns at the Academy?
Maybe talismanamsilat can shed some light
Academy
The Academy will remain here for the rest of the game.
You may buy training from expert weapon masters or
philosophers. For every 3 gold you pay, you must miss
1 turn, but gain 1 point of Strength or Craft.
The correct sequence for encountering the Academy is as follows:
1) Pay the chosen amount of gold for your training, in advance (3G, 6G, 9G, etc),
2) Miss your next turn,
3) Gain 1 point of Strength or Craft, at the end of your missed turn,
4) Repeat steps 2+3 for every 3 gold you paid for your training.
If the Academy is destroyed by the Earthquake or the Destruction or Displacement Spell is cast on the Academy, any further missed turns and Strength or Craft gains are forfeited, along with all of the gold you paid for the training!!!
This same process applies to the Instructor.
Ell.
talismanamsilat said:
Academy
The Academy will remain here for the rest of the game.
You may buy training from expert weapon masters or
philosophers. For every 3 gold you pay, you must miss
1 turn, but gain 1 point of Strength or Craft.
The correct sequence for encountering the Academy is as follows:
1) Pay the chosen amount of gold for your training, in advance (3G, 6G, 9G, etc),
2) Miss your next turn,
3) Gain 1 point of Strength or Craft, at the end of your missed turn,
4) Repeat steps 2+3 for every 3 gold you paid for your training.
If the Academy is destroyed by the Earthquake or the Destruction or Displacement Spell is cast on the Academy, any further missed turns and Strength or Craft gains are forfeited, along with all of the gold you paid for the training!!!
This same process applies to the Instructor.
OK, but can I gain for exemple 1 Craft at the end of missed turn and next 1 Strength at the end of further missed turn (or only one sort of this attributes is receivable for the whole training)?
Yes. After each missed turn, you may gain either 1 Strength or 1 Craft!
Ell.
Thanks for the clarification, Elliot
Thank You! Thank You! Talismanasilat and to all else who helped. I truly did not want to be a priest for three games. No offense to any of those who enjoy the priest. If it works for you great! Just not for me. Again, thank you
we play it exactly like it s on the card, you pay the amount 3,6,9,12,15 miss x turns 1 2 3 4 5 or more, but get all strenght and craft at the start if card is removed before end of training no loss, as the character has already decided what is happening paid for it, received the benefits and has to suffer the loss
ososober said:
we play it exactly like it s on the card, you pay the amount 3,6,9,12,15 miss x turns 1 2 3 4 5 or more, but get all strenght and craft at the start if card is removed before end of training no loss, as the character has already decided what is happening paid for it, received the benefits and has to suffer the loss
This is your house rule then which is fine. However it is not the official way to play it!
Ell.
what is the official way to play it, so we can get ot right?
ososober said:
what is the official way to play it, so we can get ot right?
It's further up in this thread of messages!
Ell.
i agree you