This card's text is phrased more or less like Frodo's...so what should we do ? Cancel that damage AFTER it's been dealt (so we can't cancel it if a character reaches his HP limit because he dies) or we cancel the damage while it's being dealt (so we can cancel it even if a character WOULD die)...???
Gondorian Discipline
It reads "cancel" and "just dealt to".
Since the damage is cancelled and not healed, i suppose it is neglected before it is actually done any harm. So you could save a character from dying by playing this card.
i have a question about this card.
suppose i have defender of the rammas taking a huge hit off say a 7 attack enemy. normally his 4 defense would reduce that to 3 damage.
however, given that he has only 1 damage, does this mean i can play this card to keep him in play ie.would he only get 1 damage as this would normally kill him, thus allowing me to play discipline to cancel that 1, or is he classed as getting the full lot of damage, regardless of hitpoints, and thus discipline wouldnt let him survive
thanks
Edited by richsabreHmm.. That's an interesting question. I don't know the answer... But I always thought of it as he takes all the damage. But now just thinking about it, it makes me think about cards like Hill Troll, that say "damage dealt beyond the remaining hit points". Hmm.
I haven’t got this card yet and it is not up on CardGameDB... post the full text with punctuation and I'll tell you the correct way to resolves
In the meantime check these posts.. they may help... they are about frodo and dmg timing... as I said I do not have the card so can not help fully
http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/85437-frodo-damage-timing/?p=808205
http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/85437-frodo-damage-timing/?p=813717
Response: cancel up to 2 points of damage just dealt to a gondor character
rich
ok... yeah this is like Frodo. What is happening here is that taking damage and applying damage are separate effects on different triggers (so to speak). When you take damage the game rules then processes that damage and the appropriate effect occurs. This allows the game to put a response window between receiving damage and applying damage. This is why Frodo says cancel.. as the damage is placed, the response triggers and then cancels that same damage that triggered the response in the first place.. but BEFORE the damage is applied and the effect that sends the card to discard occurs..
So in Rich's example...
Attack 7 / Defense 4 = 3 dmg received
Gondorian Discipline cancels upto 2 points of received damage So we now have 1 point of received damage, instead of 3.
It's health is 1, there is 1 damage.. so when the damage is applied, we end up with 1 wound vs 1 health.. the card is destroyed and sent to the yard.
This also answers the OP question.
The response happens BEFORE the character dies, as in before the damage is applied, but after it is "received". So even if the card would have been killed, you can use Gondorian Discipline to save it. You could also cast it if it wouldn't be killed to just reduce the received damage before it is applied, net result you place less wounds.
ok... yeah this is like Frodo. What is happening here is that taking damage and applying damage are separate effects on different triggers (so to speak). When you take damage the game rules then processes that damage and the appropriate effect occurs. This allows the game to put a response window between receiving damage and applying damage. This is why Frodo says cancel.. as the damage is placed, the response triggers and then cancels that same damage that triggered the response in the first place.. but BEFORE the damage is applied and the effect that sends the card to discard occurs..
So in Rich's example...
Attack 7 / Defense 4 = 3 dmg received
Gondorian Discipline cancels upto 2 points of received damage So we now have 1 point of received damage, instead of 3.
It's health is 1, there is 1 damage.. so when the damage is applied, we end up with 1 wound vs 1 health.. the card is destroyed and sent to the yard.
This also answers the OP question.
The response happens BEFORE the character dies, as in before the damage is applied, but after it is "received". So even if the card would have been killed, you can use Gondorian Discipline to save it. You could also cast it if it wouldn't be killed to just reduce the received damage before it is applied, net result you place less wounds.
Cool and clear. Sounds very logic
indeed- thanks
rich