Heya, this is my first time posting but I've been playing for years. My question is, when the Tavern Maid lands on a character and pours them a drink, does it count as an encounter, and is she allowed to also encounter the space?
Tavern Maid Encounter Question
I would say no. You either encounter the space OR a character on the space. You cannot do both.
I would say no. You either encounter the space OR a character on the space. You cannot do both.
yes you can. Pouring a drink is not encountering the character it is LANDING on a character. This also works for the Thief and others where the card says, "lands on". You can pour someone a drink and then attack them if you want. The Thief can land on a character steal an item and then encounter them, win the encounter and then take another item.
Sorry mrvankil you are completely wrong. If the Tavern Maid pours a character a drink, this is encountering a character. A character may either attack another character or use one of his special abilities against another character. It's in the Rulebook...
Sorry mrvankil you are completely wrong. If the Tavern Maid pours a character a drink, this is encountering a character. A character may either attack another character or use one of his special abilities against another character. It's in the Rulebook...
+1 +1 +1 +1 +1 +1 +1 +1
Important rule here.....any special ability involving interacting with other characters is considered the encounter and normally may not be combined with another including attack!
Sorry mrvankil you are completely wrong. If the Tavern Maid pours a character a drink, this is encountering a character. A character may either attack another character or use one of his special abilities against another character. It's in the Rulebook...
+1 +1 +1 +1 +1 +1 +1 +1
Important rule here.....any special ability involving interacting with other characters is considered the encounter and normally may not be combined with another including attack!
Still there are Haggler and Panhandler Followers sitting in the grey zone... until a clarification comes.
Sorry for asking again but remembering the discussion about the Druid landing on woods this is completely backwards. Where in the rule book is there a difference between landing on a space and a character? This is what I meant by making the game more complicated and confusing.
I don't want to be difficult, I just want to understand.
When you land on a space, you can either encounter "the space" (which means all the cards followed by the space instructions) or "a character" on that space (which means battling him by default unless you have another special ability to use instead). You can't do both.
There's a difference between "landing" and "encountering." Landing occurs when your character moves onto a space, but before the encounter step. So the Druid lands on the Woods, takes his Spells, then decides whether to encounter the Woods space and its associated cards or a character on the Woods.
It would be different if his ability read, "Whenever you encounter a Woods space, you may gain spells," in which case he wouldn't gain spells if he encountered a character.
Edited by ArtaterxesWhere in the rule book is there a difference between landing on a space and a character?
Nowhere. The rulebook only gives the definition of landing on spaces (=end movement). Still many character special abilities (e.g. Thief, Sorceress, etc...) improperly use the wording "land on character", but they have been clarified in the current FAQ (Sorceress Q1). Using character special abilities on other characters always requires encountering characters.
Then Haggler and Panhandler were added but they are not character special abilities but Followers. Of course it would be better to follow exactly the same procedure of character special abilites, but without any statement or applicable rule the practice is still open to question.
This is the game getting complicated because of inconsistent use of keywords.
Still not sure why thief would have to choose to encounter while the druid doesn't. I know of the faq and I think the same sgiuld be applied to the druid. But I guess we just have to agree to disagree.
Semi OT but.. it somewhat annoys me that the Vampiress can visit the Graveyard and both heal all her lives using her special ability and also replenish all her fate as other evil characters using the Graveyard encounter.
It would have made more sense to write it like the other mentioned abilities in this thread, that she could either heal or do any of the other choices.
-Whenever you visit the Graveyard, you may heal up to your life value.
Still not sure why thief would have to choose to encounter while the druid doesn't. I know of the faq and I think the same sgiuld be applied to the druid. But I guess we just have to agree to disagree.
A special ability (on a character sheet) that involves interacting with another character is considered an "encounter." It's something you do when you land on a space and then choose to encounter the character (and ignore the space and associated cards) and then also use that special ability instead of battling.
In contrast an effect that activates when you land on something occurs as soon as your character enters the space, before he chooses what he will "encounter."
As an example, suppose the Thief has the Herbalist follower. The Thief lands on the Woods which also contains a Talisman and the Sorceress character. First, the effect of the Herbalist occurs - he heals 1 life for landing on the woods. Then, he chooses what to encounter - the Woods or the Sorceress. If he encounters the Woods, he may take the Talisman. If he encounters the Sorceress, he may either battle her or use his special ability (take an object or gold).
Hope that helps...don't worry I have seen many players raise similar points.
I understand your reasoning. No problem with that. It's just that in my world the space is undefined until you choose to encounter it (including land on abilities). The most basic rule is either encounter character or space. I don't see anything here that should stray from that rule.
To me there's no inconsistent use of keywords as Warlock calls. Just us interpreting them differently where we don't have to.
It's curious we're having this discussion in a thread called "Tavern Maid Encounter Question", which refers to a card and an ability written in a perfectly clear fashion. Tavern Maid says the character(s) is(are) encountered . To encounter is a keyword in Talisman. Keywords tell you how to read a card and they are defined by the rules.
I understand your reasoning. No problem with that. It's just that in my world the space is undefined until you choose to encounter it (including land on abilities).
Everyone's entitled to live in his own world and make the game simpler, if it suits his needs, but Artaterxes has not shared any personal thought, he is just explaining a rule given in the rulebook (page 9):
The space where a character lands is the space where he ends his movement or the space to which he is moved to as the result of an encounter or effect.
"lands" is written in italics in the rulebook, so it is a keyword. It's not a descriptive word that could be replaced by any other word with the same meaning. In the rulebook, it is a keyword applied to spaces .
So if an ability says "when you land on the Woods" it means "when you end your movement on the Woods". Period. It doesn't require encountering the space, you choose what to do after resolving the ability.
To me there's no inconsistent use of keywords as Warlock calls. Just us interpreting them differently where we don't have to.
Seeing the difference between a wording given by the rulebook (land on spaces) and the same wording used in an improper fashion (land on characters) first requires to acknowledge existing rules. Of course there's no discussion until you choose to ignore statements included in the rules and prefer to oversimplify the game.
Edited by The_WarlockI wouldn't say oversimplify. I still say it's according to the rules. Nothing in the rules states that even though you land on a space that it's referred to as a woods space until you choose to encounter it. That's where our opinions differ.
I'll have to think on this when playing next. I know it's of topic but it's still connected. Why cripple some characters but not all of them? The druids ability is still powerful.
I wouldn't say oversimplify. I still say it's according to the rules. Nothing in the rules states that even though you land on a space that it's referred to as a woods space until you choose to encounter it. That's where our opinions differ.
So quoting rules about "land on spaces" and playing as written is an opinion that can be questioned, while figuring out an abstract thing like the spaces which have no name until you encounter them is playing by the rules? Sorry, but it's not even an opinion, it's an invention of yours.
Rules say that every space has its title and has instructions that are followed when it is encountered.
I'll have to think on this when playing next. I know it's of topic but it's still connected. Why cripple some characters but not all of them?
Because each character has his own design. Vampiress requires to visit (encounter) the Graveyard and the Druid needs only to land on (end movement on) a Woods space, possibly drawing the right Spell and decide to encounter a character there instead of the space. They are not made with a stencil, they are designed to be unique and every character should play different from others, to the point that special abilities can override basic rules. This is not the Druid's case, though.
Edited by The_Warlock