A few questions

By Serazu, in Rules questions & answers

Good day.

Since I cannot seem to find my older topic after the forum facelift, I 've decided to create a new thread...

A few questions, concerning the "Escape to the Quays" quest from the Peril in Pelargir:

1. Do I deal a Shadow card to the enemy attacking from the staging area? I personally deal it one, since an attack is an attack, but am I correct?

2. Can the hero with the scroll attached defend it or does he take the damage?

3. If he doesn't defend the attack, does he take the full damage, much like in undefended attacks, or does he count his Defense value beforehand and then calculates damage? The former I believe.

4. Concerning the quest's force effect, what happens if, by the time I reveal it and then add an enemy in the staging area, that enemy was the first to be revealed in that round? Does he make an immediate attack or does the "fun" begin from the following round?

5. Purely theoretical: If I use a card effect to just reveal the top card of the encounter deck and that card is an enemy, am I forced to add it to the staging area and then suffer its attack or does the attack only come from an enemy who will be added to the staging area anyway, i.e. during the third phase of a turn?

Many Thanks.

Edit: I 've located my older thread. It seems that I was right in the first instance and I have to deal a s card. Questions 2 is already answered as well and he may defend normally.

Edited by Serazu

1 - Yes, deal a shadow card. In the FAQ it says: "(1.26) Enemy attacks outside of the combat phase / If an enemy attacks outside of the combat phase, it is still dealt a shadow card at the beginning of the attack. Then follow the 4 steps under Phase 6 “Combat” in the rules." That doesn't explicitly state anything about the staging area, but certainly the enemy attacking during the quest phase would be covered by this text whether engaged or not.

2- The attack is made at "the player" who controls the scroll. If that's you, you can choose any character you control to defend it.

3- If you let the attack go undefended, you can place the damage on any hero you control, as with any other undefended attack. The exception would be if you get a shadow card like the one on Harbor Thug ("Shadow: Any damage dealt by this attack is dealt to the hero with Alcaron's Scroll attached, if able.")

4- not 100% sure what you're asking here. Per the quest card's text, the enemy will attack as soon as it is revealed (i.e., during staging in the quest phase). In a game with multiple players, the attack can even occur before you are finished revealing cards. For example, in a 4 player game, the first card revealed during the staging step is an enemy. That enemy makes an immediate attack, per the quest card's forced effect. Deal a shadow card as per usual. After the attack, you still have 3 more cards to be revealed, but none of those will trigger the quest card's forced effect.

5- Most cards that let you peek at the encounter deck don't use the text "reveal." Cards like Risk Some Light or Rumour from the Earth let you "look" at the top card(s). In those cases, the cards are not "revealed" and thus the forced effect on the quest card will not trigger. The one card that does use the text "reveal" is just about the dumbest card in the game, "Ravens of the Mountain." Because it uses the word "reveal," whatever card you reveal will trigger any "When Revealed," "Surge," "Doomed," or other keywords. If you do this before the staging step of the quest phase, you then get to put that card back on top of the encounter deck and reveal it again for twice the fun. The reveal from this card would also trigger the forced effect on Escape to the Quays. In my opinion, having "reveal" printed on this card is probably an error and waiting to get errata. It already requires you to shuffle the encounter deck (so you can't combo it with other encounter-peeking cards) and exhaust a hero to use it. Shooting yourself in the foot by unnecessarily revealing a treachery was probably not the design intent here.

Edited by GrandSpleen

The one card that does use the text "reveal" is just about the dumbest card in the game, "Ravens of the Mountain." Because it uses the word "reveal," whatever card you reveal will trigger any "When Revealed," "Surge," "Doomed," or other keywords. If you do this before the staging step of the quest phase, you then get to put that card back on top of the encounter deck and reveal it again for twice the fun. The reveal from this card would also trigger the forced effect on Escape to the Quays. In my opinion, having "reveal" printed on this card is probably an error and waiting to get errata. It already requires you to shuffle the encounter deck (so you can't combo it with other encounter-peeking cards) and exhaust a hero to use it. Shooting yourself in the foot by unnecessarily revealing a treachery was probably not the design intent here.

i did not realise that.....i wonder if that was intentional or not?

Since using the card is already a crapshoot (if you get a treachery, you get 0 progress anyway), it looks pretty sure that it's a mistake. But as printed, it's pretty much unusable!