Neural Katana vs 3 Net shields

By Bluedice, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

Where exactly in the rule book! I'm looking for it. Please point it out.

What exactly are you looking for that you couldn't find by re-reading the previous comments?

Edited by Saturnine

Is there a timing rule about preventing damage. because this kind of issue was not discuss.

about the net shield, if one net damage occurs w/ 3 net shields. of course you can prevent it.

the tricky part is multiple damage at one time. like my example neural katana.

if 3 net damage occur w/ 3 net shields, from my perspective you can prevent all since all net shield will prevent only 1 point of damage each.

my previous question:

if you are dealt w/ neural katana. how exactly you inflict damage. do you choose a card and discard it right away then pick another or you choose up to 3 cards then you discard those cards at the same time.

With woodcutter w/ 3 advancement i believe you need to discard 3 cards but one by one.

in the rule book about prevent and avoid the last part stated that "Prevent and avoid effects can triggered whenever the effect they are preventing or avoiding is resolving."

my understanding is this: 3 net shields will trigger at the same time if a net damage will occur for the first time. you are preventing the damage w/ 3 net shields using each at the same time because it's about to resolve.

I'm actually looking if there is a timing provided about preventing damage.

Edited by Bluedice

"When the Runner trashes multiple cards for damage, the cards are placed in his heap in the order they were randomly trashed." Rules, page 20 [underline mine]

The cards are trashed in order. The trashing of the first card provides the opportunity for Net Shield's prevent effect. You resolve Net Shield's abiltiy (provided you use it), and the trashing does not resolve. You then trash the second card. Then you trash the third card.

If you still have any questions or doubts, asking FFG directly via the link provided earlier in this thread is probably the best course of action.

I did ask FFG about it and there is still no answer.

So you don't choose all three cards and trash them at the same time? instead you choose them and trash those cards one by one? I believe it was placed in order in the heap but you still need to choose 3 cards before trashing them. Is that what you do? you actually treat neural katana like a woodcutter with 3 advancement.

again you pick cards one at a time but you don't discard them right away. that way it will be placed in the heap at that order.

you don't trash cards one by one if you are dealt w/ a set of damage.

that quoted line in the rule book. states only how you placed them in the heap. not trashing it one by one.

It goes like this...

There are 3 hungry guys waiting for a pie.

then the pie was serve w/ 3 slices

all guys will pick a slice and eat it.

not all 3 guys pick the same slice of pie and eat it.

Well we better wait for FFG's resolution. and thank you for trying to help me to clear this. I'll post it hear after they gave a resolution.

Bluedice, you are wrong. Even your pie example is wrong:

"Here is a pie. I cut it into three slices. Any pie that isn't eaten will be thrown in the face of William Gibson. WHO IS UP FOR SOME PIE?"

Three guys show up. But they're all OCD and will only eat the first piece of pie from a pie. Something about germs or the Illuminati-- wait, scratch that. That's a different card game.

Anyways, they all rush up to grab the first piece of pie, but the Piemaster stops them. (Note: the Piemaster's name isn't Pi, despite the tone of this post. It's Bob. Y'know, like that one silly Microsoft product: Process Explorer)

PE goes "whoawhoawhoa. One at a time boys. One. At. A Time."

Using a method way beyond anyone's understanding, they form a line. The first one picks a piece of pie. Then points it out to Piemaster.

Here's the scenarios you can think of at this point:

1) Piemaster plates the slice, adds a slice of cheddar cheese, and hands it to Pie Eating Guy #1. Pie Eating Guy #1 takes it, walks away, and eats it. Then Pie Eating Guy #2 comes up, but OH NO, someone's alrady taken a piece of pie. Screw that Noise. Same for PEG #3 (aka: Simon). This is the way responses work! Corp deals 3 Net damage. The Runner triggers the "prevent the first Netdamange" ability on a single Net Shield. It full resolves. There is no more "first" damage for the other Net Shields to trigger on.

2) Piemaster takes note of PEG#1. Then allows the other PEGs to come up and pick their pieces. Simon picks the same slice. Leg picks a different slice. Once everone has picked, Piemaster gives PEG#1 his slice. He then goes to give Simon the same slice, but it's already gone. He then goes to give Leg a different slice, but Leg refuses to eat it because it isn't the first slice!!! This in theory is how it would work if each Netshield first triggered, then each Net Shield tried to resolve. The game does not work this way.

3) As #2, except each PEG simultaniously (they're dancers) grabs a piece of pie. But Piemaster has already decreed which is the "first" piece. All three of them grab the SAME PIECE. The piece of pie can't be divided any further. One one of them eats eat, the other two starve to death and are eaten by stray cats. This is if each Net Shield triggers simutaniously, but can only prevent THE FIRST POINT. The game does not work like this. There points of damage aren't broken out into seperate units. And more specifically, Simultanious Triggers are resolved in order, not simultanious.

SEE RULEBOOK PAGE 22:


When one or more abilities have the same timing trigger or can be triggered at the same time, each player chooses the order his own abilities trigger.

So forgetting all about pies, THIS IS HOW IT WORK:

1) You get dealt 3 damage

2) The "first point of damage" is point dealt.

3) All three of your Net Shields trigger

4) You chose the order they resolve in.

5) The first Net Shield resolves. It looks for the first point of damage, and prevents it.

6) The second Net Sheild resolves. It looks for the first point of damage, does not find it, fails.

7) The third Net Shield resolves. It looks for the first point of damage, does not find it, fails.

YOU DO NOT IN ANY CIRCUMSTANCE IN ANY CONCEIVABLE VARIATION OF THE GAME EVER PREVENT 3 DAMAGE. Ever. If you think you've found a situation, you're wrong. Here's a way to determine that: Are you preventing more than 1 net damage. If so, you're wrong. If in doubt, check again. Are you still preventing more than 1 damage? If so-- YOU. ARE. WRONG.

Note: FFG people take a few days to get back to you, especially since they just came off a long weekend. Patience. Jeez.

that quoted line in the rule book. states only how you placed them in the heap. not trashing it one by one.

You are making my head explode. If you don't trash them one by one, you have no order in which to place them in the heap.

It's not just a first point of net damage

It's the first 3 points of net damage

You even answered your own question there. Net Shield specifically states that it stops the FIRST **POINT** as in ONE POINT . not 3 points initiated simultaneously.

from the FAQ:

Multiple Net Shields cannot prevent more damage.