Corp Rezzing Upgrades

By halcyon1234, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

Apologies in advance if the answer is in the rulebook and I didn't see it staring me in the face. =)

When can a Corp pay to rez an upgrade? I know it doesn't take a click to do so, but can it be done in the middle of a run? Before, during or after an encounter with ICE? Before, during or after the runner encountering cards?

It is in the rulebook, but isn't exactly obvious at first. On page 32, under the Timing Structure of Turns there is a little blue snowflake icon that represents when a corp can rez an installed card (other than ICE).

The times a corp can rez an upgrade are:

-At the beginning of their draw phase (before they actually draw the card, and before the "when turn begins" actions)

-After each corp action

-After discarding

-At the beginning of the runner's turn (before "When turn begins" actions)

-After each runner action

-At the end of the runner's turn, after their discard phase

Thanks, Sordeq. So if I'm reading this right, the corp CANNOT surprise-rez an Upgrade at the start of a run, or in between ICE encounters?

If you check the timing structure of the run, you'll see there's also various steps in there during which you can rez cards.

Thanks, Sordeq. So if I'm reading this right, the corp CANNOT surprise-rez an Upgrade at the start of a run, or in between ICE encounters?

Yes they can. Check out the timing structure of a run in the FAQ or rulebook. It's very clear on when non-ice cards can be rezzed.

Oh, good!