Confronting the Terror

By Juniper_Thornrose, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Greetings folks,

I have a question. I was wondering about Confronting the Terror. Relevant text is as follows:

Interrupt: When damage is dealt to a friendly unit or objective, your opponent must instead divide that damage among any number of units and objectives he controls.

Say my opponent attacks with a unit that has 2 Unit Damage and 2 Blast Damage. I decide to use Confronting the Terror on this damage. When he has to divide the damage, is it divided as 2 Unit Damage and 2 Blast Damage, or is it divided at 4 total damage and placed how he wants on his cards? I want to say this is a strong card (which either way it is), but I was trying to see how strong overall it is.

I do not think you or the opponent can change the type of damage so he would have to deal 2 unit damage to his units and 2 blast damage to his objectives. unless he has a card that can change the type of damage or the can re direct the damage to somewhere else. :)

you would have to time it appropriately. since it is an interrupt that stops all damage of a certain type and redirects it, you could stop either the 2 unit damage or the 2 objective damage in the provided example... not both.

Edit: This is a nice way, however, to stop a Sith player from trying to be clever and playing Desolation of Hoth to kill one of your units or objectives with that 4 damage you did to their Hoth objective.

Edited by stormwolf27

Damage/tactics from combat icons is dealt one combat icon type at a time - you choose the order which you want to execute them in though. First you do all of one type in go (eg all your unit damage), then you do all of another combat icon type (eg all blast damage), then the third if you have it. So Stormwolf is correct, CtT can only re-direct all of one combat type, not both.

However, once damage is dealt, how it originated is irrevelant ... damage is damage is damage. So if it was unit damage that's being re-directed (as an example; it's the same for blast damage), this effect can split it up any way it wants across objectives and units. Damage, once dealt, doesn't maintain memory of its type ... it's the card effect that dictates what may be done with it.

Edited by PBrennan

you would have to time it appropriately. since it is an interrupt that stops all damage of a certain type and redirects it, you could stop either the 2 unit damage or the 2 objective damage in the provided example... not both.

Force. Sense.

Interrupt: When damage is dealt to a friendly unit or objective , your opponent must instead divide that damage among any number of units and objectives he controls.

Have we got an report on this guy yet? first it sounds like your right Stormwolf, then they throw that "and" in there instead of another or, why would he deal damage to any number of units and objectives if he is only dealing damage to one or the other?

i think the unit or objective is just the trigger to play the card

magni

you would have to time it appropriately. since it is an interrupt that stops all damage of a certain type and redirects it, you could stop either the 2 unit damage or the 2 objective damage in the provided example... not both.

Force. Sense.

Interrupt: When damage is dealt to a friendly unit or objective , your opponent must instead divide that damage among any number of units and objectives he controls.

Have we got an report on this guy yet? first it sounds like your right Stormwolf, then they throw that "and" in there instead of another or, why would he deal damage to any number of units and objectives if he is only dealing damage to one or the other?

i think the unit or objective is just the trigger to play the card

magni

right. Once damage is assigned, it's just damage, no matter where it was going. If you redirect, say, devestator's objective damage, then it becomes just regular damage, and the DS player now has to choose how to distribute 4 damage among his units and objectives.

Edited by stormwolf27

Completely agree with Stormwolf.

lol some times i wonder if they put cards like this out there just to confuse me.

Edited by Magni

lol some times i wonder if they put cards like this out there just to confuse me.

I think where it got you is that they designed the card to trigger off of damage being dealt to a unit or objective (I think most damage deflection is only one or the other) and then force your opponent to decide what will take the damage on their side. I'm not sure why they used "and" in the reassignment step...

the only thing I can think of is that, maybe, with multiple damage, RAW would suggest that your opponent can't put all of the damage on objectives or all on units. You have to divide it up between the two card types.

"and" is used because it provides a list of things (ie "this and this") that you may "divide that damage among". I wouldn't overread it, there's not more to it than that.

It probably could have been "and/or" instead of "and." That would be a little more clear, but PBrennan is right about the syntax, it works as is.

I've also been confused by this card, but if you re-read the interrupt section in the rules manual (see page 24) the "triggering condition for the interrupt is the unit or objective damage being dealt. Therefore, the interrupt would only apply to one or the other unit dmg or objective dmg. The interrupted player would then have to decide how to deal that type of damage amongst "legal" targets. For example, if devastator was attacking the LS: Jedi player would play this after the unit damage is applied to reflect any objective damage back at the DS player. It is then the DS player's choice where to place the damage. I believe the key word is "that" in "divide that damage" which clues you into the fact that there is only one type of damage reflected.

So, maybe this is something we need to send to Nate?

Nate's already confirmed all this, response quoted at BGG, courtesy of karrde.

OK, I always learn better with full scenarios:

DS wins an edge battle and goes first. An enhanced Nightsister destroys the lone LS defender, then her blast damage goes on LS's Hit & Run objective. DS's other attacker is a TIE Advanced and its blast damage, the unopposed damage, as well as the TIE's Reaction bonus damage destroys Hit & Run...

Or so we thought. LS plays Confronting The Terror. DS is going to take some damage back. The question is, how much? Is it all the damage H&R took during the entire conflict phase (4 pts.)? Is it just the damage H&R run took during the TIE's strike (3 pts.)? Is it some portion of the TIE's strike (1 or 2 pts.)? Does the card damage, unopposed damage, and reaction damage count as 3 separate inflictions?

It would seem that a card with a cost of 3 (like Red Five & Yoda) would reflect all the damage it takes during a phase, especially when it talks about dividing damage between multiple enemy targets. It's clearly designed to save high value units and objectives which have high damage capacities. Deflecting one printed damage icon from one card during one strike doesn't compute with its cost.

Confronting the Terror: Interrupt: When damage is dealt to a friendly unit or objective, your opponent must instead divide that damage among any number of units and objectives he controls.

The card interrupts a single instance of damage to reflect it back at the DS. That would either be 1 (the Nightsister's Strike), 1 (the TIE Advanced's strike), 1 (the unopposed damage), or 1 (the TIE Advanced's Reaction) in your scenario.

The card costs 3 because it can redirect any amount of damage. Some units strike for much more than your chosen examples. For instance, a Devastator piloted by Stele striking against an exhausted objective would be dealing 8 damage, all of which could be reflected back with Confronting the Terror.