widow's wail ordering

By period3, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Widow's wail is an attachment with the following text:

"Infamy.
Attached character gets +2 STR.
Response: After you win a challenge in which attached character participated, draw a card for each power on Widow's Wail.

"

Assuming Widow's wail has no power on it, after I win a power challenge can I put the power on Widow's wail and then draw a card? Or do I need to wait a turn?

i.e. is the sequence:

- win challenge

- claim/move power

- response

or is it

- win challenge

- response

- claim/move power

Thanks

Challenge resolution follows these steps: Determine winner, implement claim (moving power in a power challenge), reward for unopposed (which you can also put on Widow's Wail), and renown, followed by passives, then responses. So you are able to draw cards with it in the same turn that you attacked with the attached character, if there is power moved or claimed for your house card in that challenge.

Really? I actually thought that responses to someone winning or losing a challenge were played immediately after determining the winner. Does this mean that there is no response window until after all of the above has been resolved?

A relevant example would be events with a response vs intrigue claim. Do you get a chance to play one before you have to satisfy claim and risking having to discard it? Or do you just cross your fingers and have to wait until after unopposed and renown have been rewarded?

Edited by Biggsy

There is an action window between the declaration of defenders and the challenge resolution where you can play events that you don't want to lose to intrigue claim if they have an any phase or challenges effect, but you can't play responses to the challenge resolution until after the claim effect. So yes, it comes down to crossing your fingers if you have A Lannister Pays his Debts that you want to use after you lose an intrigue challenge (for example)

There is an action window between the declaration of defenders and the challenge resolution where you can play events that you don't want to lose to intrigue claim if they have an any phase or challenges effect, but you can't play responses to the challenge resolution until after the claim effect. So yes, it comes down to crossing your fingers if you have A Lannister Pays his Debts that you want to use after you lose an intrigue challenge (for example)

One exception worth noting are save/cancel responses, which *can* be played in that framework where the winner is determined. Notorious examples include Burning on the Sands (Happens in step II, the save/cancel step of "determine challenge winner") and Red Vengeance (Happens in step II, the save/cancel step of satisfying claim).

Edited by -Istaril

All right thanks. I was actually going to bring up RV but now you already answered it.

But all the "Response: After you win/lose a challenge.." events are played as the last thing of the challenge. Got it! We just have to play it a little differently then. This framework stuff can be pretty confusing at times