Rivendell Bow and Legolas

By PESKPESK, in Rules questions & answers

In a solo game, is the Rivendell Bow to any use for Legolas? Can he declare it's a ranged attack to get the +1?

Rivendell Bow

Type: Attachment

Sphere: Tactics Cost: 1

Item. Weapon.

Attach to a Noldor or Silvan character, or to Aragorn, Limit 1 per character

Attached character gains ranged.

If attached character has a printed ranged keyword, it gets +1 [Attack] during a ranged attack.

no. There is no bonus unless you make a ranged attack. So.. yeah this will not help in "most" solo situations. There are times when you can do a "ranged attack into the staging area" I think it is the yew bow.. and there is a quest that allows range attacks into the staging area as well isn't there?..anyway in these cases YES it would add the +1

ffg_great-yew-bow-otd.jpg

and there is a quest that allows range attacks into the staging area as well isn't there?.

Not a quest, there are some Goblins in Khazad Dum with engagement threat 48 which you cannot optianly engage but there is the possiility to make a range attack on them (which is a good thing cause they have a questing threat of 2 and you must damage one character for each enemy revealed)

Edited by Nickpes

I started using this the great yew bow with the rivendel bow. Someone informed me tha the lates FAQ says that a ranged attack has been defined as, when a character with ranged makes an attack on an enemy engaged with another player.

Does this mean Rivendel bow can no longer be used with great yew bow?

And how does Great yew bow make a ranged attack to the staging area? There is no enemy engaged with another player.

Frustrating FAQ

The "golden rule" says that card text trumps manual text. I suppose the FAQ can be considered an extension of the manual.

Great Yew Bow's card text explicitly states that the attack is ranged, so it doesn't matter that the enemy is in the staging area-- it's still a ranged attack.

Edited by GrandSpleen

The "golden rule" says that card text trumps manual text. I suppose the FAQ can be considered an extension of the manual.

Great Yew Bow's card text explicitly states that the attack is ranged, so it doesn't matter that the enemy is in the staging area-- it's still a ranged attack.

So does rivendell bow still give +1 to the attack?

Yeah, Great Yew Bow's attack into the staging area is a ranged attack, so Rivendell Bow will do +1 atk.

I´d say, by far in most cases, on Legolas: Rivendell Blade > Rivendell Bow

I´d say, by far in most cases, on Legolas: Rivendell Blade > Rivendell Bow

it doesnt really matter either way, the bow is limited not restricted...so get both on :)

I´d say, by far in most cases, on Legolas: Rivendell Blade > Rivendell Bow

it doesnt really matter either way, the bow is limited not restricted...so get both on :)

Great yew bow is restricted though, so then its two bows and one blade, as long as you can keep threat low enough for the Yew Bow to be of any benefit.