Plateau clarification

By ptconfer2429, in Tide of Iron

Question on Plateau LOS... If a unit is on a 2nd level hill, do they have LOS to a ground level hex if the LOS passes over 2 or more level 1 hills? I did not see this in the rules. I understand that if I am on a level 1 hill I do not have LOS if I trace the LOS through an adjacent Level 1.

Regards,

Paul

The answer is directly in the rules:

Firing Across a Plateau
If the unit on the higher elevation must fire (or be fired upon)
across an adjacent hex at its same level , it is considered to be
hidden by a plateau, and no LOS can be established. Thus, the
higher unit must be on the “edge” hex of a hill in order to establish
LOS to a lower target, and vice versa.

You're on lvl 2 and line of fire crosses an adjacent lvl 2 => plateau.
You're on lvl 1 and line of fire crosses an adjacent lvl 1 => plateau.
You're on lvl 2 and line of fire crosses one or more adjacent lvl 1 => no plateau.

Thanks. The rules are pretty clear.

Yes, but there would be a single blind hex behind each level 1 hill....

The plateau rules are pretty easy, I really like the way they did those. happy.gif