If meera die and use this card, can i trigger her response to go shadows, because she leaves play when she died?
thanks.
If meera die and use this card, can i trigger her response to go shadows, because she leaves play when she died?
thanks.
Well, put shortly: probably.
Put in a longer way, the timing on Call of the Three-Eyed Crow is messy and confusing, and any clarifcation at this point would be speculation.
The assumption seems to be that this responds to a character being killed (or being placed in the dead pile by other non-killed tricks) in step 5, during the response window. This is after it is moribund, and (probably) counts as it leaving play and then entering play. Given that in the current action window a character left play and *assuming* meera is not currently in a moribund state (which isn't quite clear, but is likely), then you can trigger her response and put her into shadows.
For a more definitive answer, you'll have to wait on some official clarification of this card's unprecedented wording.
orion_kurnous said:
If meera die and use this card, can i trigger her response to go shadows, because she leaves play when she died?
thanks.
actually no. her resonse of returning to shadows when a stark character leaves play is passed by the time this event can be played.
Essentially, if something kills/discards/returns to hand/etc a Stark character from play (other than Meera, of course), after saves/cancels and passives reacting to this, you are allowed to trigger Meera's response. Now, character A is moribund:out of play, and Meera is moribund:shadows. Then you have other responses till the window closes. Only then do the characters actually leave play.
This event is a response to "after a non-army character enters the dead pile…" By the time Meera hits the dead pile, all moribund characers have left play, and there is no more opportunity to trigger her return to shadows effect.
-Istaril said:
Put in a longer way, the timing on Call of the Three-Eyed Crow is messy and confusing, and any clarifcation at this point would be speculation.
The timing is after the window for anything related to a character dying or being removed from play has passed. It specifically says to respond to them entering the dead pile. You can still trigger any "leaves play" effects while they're moribund, and any "enters play" abilities after you resolve the event.
i.e. Someone blanks Eddard Stark (core set) so that he will go to your dead pile instead of top of your deck, because they were clever and removed stalwart. He's the only character that dies, so you trigger Meera to return her to shadows. After both characters have left play, you respond with Call of the Three-Eyed Crow to grab Eddard and put him into play knelt. His passive triggers (because it says "after [he] enters play," not "after you play"), and he claims his one power.
stormwolf27 said:
-Istaril said:
Put in a longer way, the timing on Call of the Three-Eyed Crow is messy and confusing, and any clarifcation at this point would be speculation.
The timing is after the window for anything related to a character dying or being removed from play has passed. It specifically says to respond to them entering the dead pile. You can still trigger any "leaves play" effects while they're moribund, and any "enters play" abilities after you resolve the event.
i.e. Someone blanks Eddard Stark (core set) so that he will go to your dead pile instead of top of your deck, because they were clever and removed stalwart. He's the only character that dies, so you trigger Meera to return her to shadows. After both characters have left play, you respond with Call of the Three-Eyed Crow to grab Eddard and put him into play knelt. His passive triggers (because it says "after [he] enters play," not "after you play"), and he claims his one power.
Stormwolf, the relevant FAQ passage is " A Moribund card (and its attachments) is considered to have been killed, discarded, returned to its owner's hand or deck, or moved to its owner's shadows area, but only for the purposes of triggering responses and passive abilities. This includes responses and passive abilities triggered by a card being placed in the appropriate out-of-play area "
Now I agree that the wording is confusing, but the card (for the purposes of triggering responses) is considered to have entered the dead pile in Step 3 (resolution of whatever killed it), despite not physically entering the dead pile until step 6. This is the only way this effect could work, since there's no precedent for responding to step 6 (closing of an action window). What's even more confusing is that since this card doesn't work as a replacement effect (e.g. "instead"), I'm not even sure it works at all. However, as a response it would be in step 5, the same response window in which you could trigger Meera. If we make the assumption that it is intended to work as a replacement effect (Like Retreat), then you certainly could still trigger Meera in Step 5 after she is put into play Knelt.
However it does definitely still work as a response to an effect like Aegon's Hill…
-Istaril said:
stormwolf27 said:
-Istaril said:
Put in a longer way, the timing on Call of the Three-Eyed Crow is messy and confusing, and any clarifcation at this point would be speculation.
The timing is after the window for anything related to a character dying or being removed from play has passed. It specifically says to respond to them entering the dead pile. You can still trigger any "leaves play" effects while they're moribund, and any "enters play" abilities after you resolve the event.
i.e. Someone blanks Eddard Stark (core set) so that he will go to your dead pile instead of top of your deck, because they were clever and removed stalwart. He's the only character that dies, so you trigger Meera to return her to shadows. After both characters have left play, you respond with Call of the Three-Eyed Crow to grab Eddard and put him into play knelt. His passive triggers (because it says "after [he] enters play," not "after you play"), and he claims his one power.
Stormwolf, the relevant FAQ passage is " A Moribund card (and its attachments) is considered to have been killed, discarded, returned to its owner's hand or deck, or moved to its owner's shadows area, but only for the purposes of triggering responses and passive abilities. This includes responses and passive abilities triggered by a card being placed in the appropriate out-of-play area "
Now I agree that the wording is confusing, but the card (for the purposes of triggering responses) is considered to have entered the dead pile in Step 3 (resolution of whatever killed it), despite not physically entering the dead pile until step 6. This is the only way this effect could work, since there's no precedent for responding to step 6 (closing of an action window). What's even more confusing is that since this card doesn't work as a replacement effect (e.g. "instead"), I'm not even sure it works at all. However, as a response it would be in step 5, the same response window in which you could trigger Meera. If we make the assumption that it is intended to work as a replacement effect (Like Retreat), then you certainly could still trigger Meera in Step 5 after she is put into play Knelt.
However it does definitely still work as a response to an effect like Aegon's Hill…
While I am familiar with this entry, there definitely needs to be further errata. Mostly because the entry was made when all there was to worry about were things like Benjen Stark, so you couldn't get his response over and over and over without puling him out of your discard pile.
Without clarification and/or errata, it's just silly for this to work IMO. I think they intended for the initiation to be during the window, but change moribund: dead pile to moribund:in play, knelt.
If Meera is your only character, she has already had her moribund state changed in a valid manner by this event, and, therefore, could not then change her moribund destination to shadows off of herself dying.
stormwolf27 said:
While I am familiar with this entry, there definitely needs to be further errata. Mostly because the entry was made when all there was to worry about were things like Benjen Stark, so you couldn't get his response over and over and over without puling him out of your discard pile.
Without clarification and/or errata, it's just silly for this to work IMO. I think they intended for the initiation to be during the window, but change moribund: dead pile to moribund:in play, knelt.
If Meera is your only character, she has already had her moribund state changed in a valid manner by this event, and, therefore, could not then change her moribund destination to shadows off of herself dying.
Well I realize that what we've fallen into here is assuming intent. Now your argument still doesn't hold water, because you can't be "moribund:inplay destination", so assuming it replaced your moribund destination with "in play, knelt", that would happen immediately (and remove you from the moribund state). As such, you could still trigger Meera*.
However, we are assuming develloper intent. The card does NOT use the word "Instead" or any indication of being a replacement effect. As currently written it would respond in step 5, take a character that was in play and moribund:dead and "put it into play, knelt" (confusing). Its moribund destination wouldn't change, and it would end up in the dead pile at the end of the action window. As written, this card is mostly pointless for characters dying from play, but great for the few effects that move characters to dead piles (Aegon's Hill, Visenya's Hill) and don't do so at end of phase (eg. Rhaeny's Hill). In other words, it's a fairly weak card until it sees some errata.
*If she's the only character that died, this will be depending on where you stand on the "checking triggers at time of activation or checking triggers at the time they are met, aka "sons of mist debate"