My friends and I play Talisman all the time. We're highschoolers, and since it's summer, it's Talisman all the time, every night. Naturally, three testosterone addled, confrontational boys have all sorts of disputes over some more of the ambiguous rules in the game, such as, the order of spell operations.
My friend and I engaged in combat, and I casted Toadify. In an attempt to avoid this, he then casted Invisibility. I argued that Toadify took precedence, so I rolled for the spell despite him and got a 4, which turned him into a toad. He argued that Invisibility avoids negates the encounter entirely. His point goes on to say that, since I hadn't rolled the die for the spell yet, Toadify was negated because he was invisible, ala, my character couldn't cast on a target he couldn't see.
I believe Toadify was the first spell cast, so the effects of the die roll happen before the effects of Invisibility. He believes Toadify was negated. Help us, please, who is right here?