Plot Cards - 'More than one opponent'

By Lazuli1990, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hi all,

I'm really new to the game, played it a few times… think it's brilliant. Have had a few issues with understanding rules though, one being:

In a two player game, so just 1vs1, if you play a plot card that says something along the lines of:

"If you have more than one opponent, choose one and neither of you can declare power challenges" etc…

If you don't have more than one opponent, do you just disregard this instruction as there there is only two of you? Or do you just automatically choose the player you are battling against?

Cheers, appreciate any help.

Enjoy the game.

Whilst you can still play the cards the text would become irrelevant. These cards are typically used in Melee games only

They're sometimes used in Joust games, but only the stats are relevant, then. If you have only one opponent, you don't have more than one, right? So whatever comes after, it doesn't happen.

It generally says if you have more than one opponent choose an opponent - I read that as if you only have one opponent then the choice is removed and the effect is in play between the only 2 players

mikey said:

It generally says if you have more than one opponent choose an opponent - I read that as if you only have one opponent then the choice is removed and the effect is in play between the only 2 players

this is generally true for things like Building Season, Summoning Season, Counting Favors, etc. that just simply tell you to choose an opponent and resolve the effect.

The plots the OP is referring to specifically say to choose another opponent "If you have more than one opponent." These don't work in a joust game, except to provide gold, claim and initiative.

It's the same as a logic formula. If x>1 then "trigger", if x=1 then "no trigger."