Silly question

By Uvatha, in Talisman Rules Questions

Must be me getting older but can the assassin when he assassinates stop a players from rolling more than 1 die to add to their attack score (eg flail, dragon hunters deathstrike etc etc).

Uvatha said:

Must be me getting older but can the assassin when he assassinates stop a players from rolling more than 1 die to add to their attack score (eg flail, dragon hunters deathstrike etc etc).

It's not you, it's the Assassin that's getting older…like the wording of his ability.

I think the spirit of the ability was that the opponent cannot roll for his attack. No matter if 1, 2 or 100 dice. The Assassin never thought he would ever have found someone capable of rolling more than 1 die and add all results together… which is strange since he starts the game in the City…

The_Warlock said:

Uvatha said:

Must be me getting older but can the assassin when he assassinates stop a players from rolling more than 1 die to add to their attack score (eg flail, dragon hunters deathstrike etc etc).

It's not you, it's the Assassin that's getting older…like the wording of his ability.

I think the spirit of the ability was that the opponent cannot roll for his attack. No matter if 1, 2 or 100 dice. The Assassin never thought he would ever have found someone capable of rolling more than 1 die and add all results together… which is strange since he starts the game in the City…

Forbidding effect. The other player cannot roll a die to add to his Strength. That means no dice whatsoever. I don't think it's worthy of inclusion in the FAQ!

Ell.

Ah so its a "forbidding effect" would of been good to have somesort of what is a "forbidding effect" in the FAQ.

Can Vs. Cannot in the rulebook!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

Can Vs. Cannot in the rulebook!

Ell.

can the bow be used against the assassin for a +1 die roll or does the assassin can not roll take priority?

can the bow be used against the assassin for a +1 die roll or does the assassin can not roll take priority?

Obviously the intent of the Assassin's ability is to sneak up unawares on his victim and stab him in the back. The Flail may be used 'at the start of battle' according to the text on the card, roll 1 die and it to your attack score. However when being assassinated, you cannot roll a die to add to your Strength. Even though the wording is different, it stands to reason that the very act of rolling the die for the Flail means that you are rolling a die to add to your Strength. Therefore in my opinion a character shoud not be able to use the Flail when being assassinated (Can vs. Cannot in the rulebook). Shoot a question off to FFG for clarification!

Ell.

Edited by talismanamsilat