across table play

By richsabre, in Rules questions & answers

after being a solo player for a long time i just wanted to clarify across table event playing

so, can i…

play the likes of ancestral knowledge….'exhuast a dwarf character to place 2 progress tokens…etc' ….and have another player do the exhuasting.

so i play the card, and player 2 exhausts a dwarf character

i know that some cards say 'exhaust an X character you control' and there you cannot do the above, but if the above is not possible i dont see the point in having 'you control' on some cards and some no

if the above is not possible can you give me some examples that are possible?

thanks

rich

richsabre said:

after being a solo player for a long time i just wanted to clarify across table event playing

so, can i…

play the likes of ancestral knowledge….'exhuast a dwarf character to place 2 progress tokens…etc' ….and have another player do the exhuasting.

so i play the card, and player 2 exhausts a dwarf character

i know that some cards say 'exhaust an X character you control' and there you cannot do the above, but if the above is not possible i dont see the point in having 'you control' on some cards and some no

if the above is not possible can you give me some examples that are possible?

thanks

rich

hmmmmmm. FFG would have to rule on that. It would make team play more interesting. I'm also still having trouble with core pg 25. "When a player plays an ally card, it comes into play under his control and is placed in his play area." Does this apply to sneak attack gandalf? I'm not "playing" gandalf, I'm putting him INTO play. I should be allowed to put him anywhere. Unless they already ruled on that.

But in regards to the above, FFG will probably say something along the lines of, "you must pay for costs of cards you control with cards under your control."

But then again, I'm not FFG.

on page 25 the manual talks about costs. The short of it is that you have to pay for costs with characters or resources that you control, so that cross table kind of cost-paying isn't allowed:

Paying Costs
Many cards are written in a “pay or exhaust X to do
Y” manner. When confronted with such a construct,
everything before the word “to” is considered the cost,
and everything after the word “to” is considered an
effect.
Costs can only be payed with cards or resources that a
player controls. If an effect is canceled, the cost is still
considered to have been paid. (p 25)

I think the exceptions to that rule are always clearly stated on the card. Eowyn, for example, says that any player may trigger her effect.

right i see- thanks!

rich