Beric Dondarrion and standing characters

By pdcstation, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Beric Dondarrion has the annoying "cannot be killed" text. So when selecting characters eligable for military claim you cannot select him, which is fine, but also means he cannot be targetted for events that allow you to kill a chosen character. However what about wildfire assault which has the "cannot be saved" text? My opponent chose 3 other characters to be killed, but since Beric Dondarrion cannot be killed, he was given a fourth for free (technically he was not being saved, because he could not die). Is that correct, or because he cannot be killed should he be automatically be one of the 3. Likewise if someone had forced you to keep a character kneeling, and your plot card says "knelt characters cannot be killed", can you select 3 other eligable characters to "save" then the knelt character cannot be killed?

I have also started looking at the Lords of Winter expansion. There are a couple of "stand character" locations. Frozen Outpost says "Challenges: Kneel Frozen Outpost to choose and stand 1 defending character. Until the end of the challenge, that character gets +2 STR (+4 STR instead if it is a War character)." It does not say that this action removes the card from the challenge - so is that character still participating? The Mole Town Brothel says "Any Phase: Kneel 1 influence to choose and stand 1 defending character." Again it does not state that you are removing them from the challenge. Are these just a way to allow the defender to be used twice?


Sorry for posting twice - after posting I got an error so thought it had not worked.

Pendarric said:

Beric Dondarrion has the annoying "cannot be killed" text. So when selecting characters eligable for military claim you cannot select him, which is fine, but also means he cannot be targetted for events that allow you to kill a chosen character. However what about wildfire assault which has the "cannot be saved" text? My opponent chose 3 other characters to be killed, but since Beric Dondarrion cannot be killed, he was given a fourth for free (technically he was not being saved, because he could not die). Is that correct, or because he cannot be killed should he be automatically be one of the 3. Likewise if someone had forced you to keep a character kneeling, and your plot card says "knelt characters cannot be killed", can you select 3 other eligable characters to "save" then the knelt character cannot be killed?

I have also started looking at the Lords of Winter expansion. There are a couple of "stand character" locations. Frozen Outpost says "Challenges: Kneel Frozen Outpost to choose and stand 1 defending character. Until the end of the challenge, that character gets +2 STR (+4 STR instead if it is a War character)." It does not say that this action removes the card from the challenge - so is that character still participating? The Mole Town Brothel says "Any Phase: Kneel 1 influence to choose and stand 1 defending character." Again it does not state that you are removing them from the challenge. Are these just a way to allow the defender to be used twice?


1. Yes; there are no restrictions on the 'choosing". You can choose any three characters, the rest are killed (if they can be). If they can't be, they too survive. This is because you're not choosing characters to die (You can't choose Beric), you're choosing characters - then the rest die.

2. Standing doesn't remove a character from the challenge. These actions can stand the character, and yes, they'll still be participating. You cannot re-declare them as a defender in that same challenge, but you can use them again for another challenge. It's not just for the ability to use them in another challenge; some characters gain abilities while standing (or kneeling) that could affect this.