Troll Key

By goblin981, in Rules questions & answers

I have a question about getting the Troll Key in the first Hobbit expansion. It says to attach it to a Troll, but a few time I've drawn the card before the trolls are in play. So can I just claim it immediately?

I'm sure this scenario happens in other quests too.

At first -- for lack explanation -- players would just discard the key if it were revealed on the first stage of the quest. The recent FAQ, however, added errata to the key and purse:

"Troll Key OHUH 43
Should read: 'If Troll Key is discarded, add it to the
staging area. If Troll Key is unattached and in the
staging area, attach it to a Troll enemy, if able.'"

So when the key or purse is revealed on stage 1, just put it in the staging area. When you get to stage 2 you can attach it to a troll. You won't be able to claim it until stage 2 when you damage the troll (or, for the purse, defeat it).