spellcarsters..again!

By Nephtys2, in WFRP Rules Questions

heys all!

i am again wondering about some checks for spellcasters.

when casting a spell that does not go vs. target defence, does the difficulty modifier for the check still apply?
an example: a melee or ranged attack against a great an enemy with threat level X would have a difficulty of 2 challenge die, the enemy has a defence of 3. means 2 <P> and 3<B>. the spell is not vs. target defence so he ignores the <B> dice.
i can find nothing in any book about spellcasters that states wheter or not the diffictuly modifier is applied.
this makes it very easy for wizards of high level fighting against giant deamons like the great unclean one. anybody melee fighter has to deal with a challenge of 3d whereas the bright wizard smirks, casts a magic dart and deals mass damage…

any ideas on that?

when using quickcasting: after channeling, if you have too much power, say equilibrium x2 is 10, after channeling the wizard has 12 power. does he have to spent the maneuvre and gain 1 stress even if quickcasts a spell immediately after that? or is it just the 1<P> he has to additionally take?

thx in advance

cheers

neph

Is this what you are asking about?

p.81 in my player's guide:

"Note that action cards whose check is noted as “vs. Target Defence”
are by default Easy (1d) checks and suffer misfortune dice to the
pool equal to the target’s Defence, just like any other attack. This
is true even if the action card in question is not a Melee or Ranged
Attack card."

no, i mean the spells which just make a spellcraft(INT) check. not going vs. target defence or vs. anything else. is there a general difficulty applied or nt?

No, just add the dice listed on the cards themselves, in the difficulty modifer section, the requirement section and the special guidlines section of the card

nephtys said:

when using quickcasting: after channeling, if you have too much power, say equilibrium x2 is 10, after channeling the wizard has 12 power. does he have to spent the maneuvre and gain 1 stress even if quickcasts a spell immediately after that? or is it just the 1[P] he has to additionally take?

I would say that you still need to spend a manoeuvre and gain 1 stress as you have gone over your x2, if you don't do that then "all the excess power immediately vents" (pg 111 of the Players' Guide, emphasis mine). Even though you are able to cast a spell in the same round as you channel thanks to quick casting, there is no suggestion that it happens (or has to happen) immediately afterwards, you could channel and then choose to manoeuvre to another spot to cast a more powerful spell than you had initially decided to, because you channeled more power than you initially hoped for.

nephtys said:

an example: a melee or ranged attack against a great an enemy with threat level X would have a difficulty of 2 challenge die, the enemy has a defence of 3. means 2 [P] and 3

I don't understand this, what do you mean by "threat level"?

If a melee, ranged or an other type of action is "X vs. Target Defence" it always has a 1[P] difficulty (plus 1 for each point of defence and any other modifiers on the action card(s) ), it is not based on the stat of the target (per the base rules), is there something in the GM's Guide that changes this?

Yes. The Threat Level of a creature has nothign to do with combat. It's always just 1 purple plus armour defence and one of block/parry/dodge.

The difficulty of the card does matter however. Magic dart doesn't have much difficulty, so whether you're hitting old lord Tzeentch himself or a snotling, the difficulty is the same.

Pilfering Strike (lure of power) for instance, has an additional 1 purple and it again, the threat level of the monster doesn't determine the difficulty of the card.

Have you been playing it a different way?

jh

yeah we have. but not for spellcasters.

but now it makes sense. gonna try out how it works both ways. but i dont know why we actually play it that way…

what does the threat level do then? nothing?

It's just there to give you an idea of how dangerous something is, it is no mechanical effect on gameplay

nephtys said:

yeah we have. but not for spellcasters. but now it makes sense. gonna try out how it works both ways. but i dont know why we actually play it that way… what does the threat level do then? nothing?

Correct. The Threat Level serves no purpose except to give you a very rough idea of the difficulty of a creature.

jh

alright. thx all for clearing that up! i'll inform my players and see what they are gonna say to that ;)