Black Sails Agenda

By MrFixit, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hello,

After a recent game where my friend used the Black Sails Agenda we came across some questions.

I used the search function and found a wide array of comments concerning this Agenda but I still got some questions.

So assuming my friend is playing Black Sails Agenda and has a River Runner ( http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/a-song-of-the-sea/the-great-fleet/river-runner-tgf ) out.

First and most important question:

Does he need to use the Naval mechanic to be able to trigger the Agenda Response?

I found Khudzlin stating that he does somewhere - but apparantly my friend came across some statements that he does not.

So to make it clear - is it enough that he simply initiates a Power challenge with the character and win it - or does he need to kneel river runner in the appropriate naval enhancement way?

In the course of this question: If he needs to use the naval enhancement mechanic does this mean that in order to be able to use this mechanic another character must have been used to initiate a challenge in which the naval-enhanced-character can be knelt in?

Secondly: I believe ktom posted a clarification by Damon stating that while only attacking or defending player may trigger the naval mechanic they may do so on either side - at least i believe that was the core message.

If so: Is it possible for my friend as the defender of a challenge to kneel a character with a naval enhancement as an attacker against himself if he assumes he'll win the challenge. And if he succeeds is he able to trigger Black Sails? So summary: He defends, he kneels a naval enhanced character against himself (in the action phase after the defenders are declared) and WINS - and then triggers Black Sails response?

Thank you for your answers.

1) He has to be declared VIA the naval enhancement. That means the challenge needs to be initiated by someone else (although that someone else could be subsequently removed; eg Osha or using the new Fleets). This is explained in the Naval rules insert.

2) Yes, you have to win a challenge in which you control a naval attacker. Jumping in a naval attacker against you and winning the challenge on the defense meets those conditions. I believe this is in the newest FAQ.