2 question

By tamtamnoob, in Rules questions & answers

1) During the quest phrase , i revealed the iron shackles card , which i had to attach it at the top of my deck . At the travel phrase, Mountains of mirkwood is the active quest . i manage to clear the active location and therefore it triggers the response on mountain of mirkwood. So , my question is , does iron shackles count towards the top 5 card and whether iron shackles got shuffle into my deck after the seached or i just simply discard it after seaching for the card i want .

2) There is 1 objective card attached with a encounter card ( it is a enemy card ) and 2 location card at the staging area . During the encounter phrase , does the attached card count as an enemy that i need to engage? if not , i just skip the encounter phrase and when to the refresh phrase?

Thanks for the answer!!

anyone can help me??

Hi, there is 2 more question i would like to ask ..

3) When there is a card that state condition : attached this card to a player with the highest threat level. What happen if both player have the same threat level

4) When there is a card that said choose a character …….. Does hero count as a character or only ally ??

tamtamnoob said:

1) During the quest phrase , i revealed the iron shackles card , which i had to attach it at the top of my deck . At the travel phrase, Mountains of mirkwood is the active quest . i manage to clear the active location and therefore it triggers the response on mountain of mirkwood. So , my question is , does iron shackles count towards the top 5 card and whether iron shackles got shuffle into my deck after the seached or i just simply discard it after seaching for the card i want .

2) There is 1 objective card attached with a encounter card ( it is a enemy card ) and 2 location card at the staging area . During the encounter phrase , does the attached card count as an enemy that i need to engage? if not , i just skip the encounter phrase and when to the refresh phrase?

Thanks for the answer!!

hello,

im a bit short on time so i shall answer the ones i can quickly

1.i am not sure but i would say that you would discard the shackles and choose just the top 4 cards, shuffling only 3 back in

2.the attatched enemy counts as normal so yes- you would make a check against it

3.i think the 1st player usually chooses

4.a hero is a character

rich

Iron shackles reads

(…) The next time a player would draw 1 or more cards from attached deck, discard Iron Shackles instead (…)

So i have to say, you do not get the opportunity to do the Mountains of Mirkwood response.

As to the other, i agree with rich

CJMatos said:

Iron shackles reads

(…) The next time a player would draw 1 or more cards from attached deck, discard Iron Shackles instead (…)

So i have to say, you do not get the opportunity to do the Mountains of Mirkwood response.

As to the other, i agree with rich

yes- that does indeed sounds more correct than what i suggested

rich

Thanks for all the answer. I got 1 more question

5) Does the first player have the option to pass the encounter phrase? ( meaning using neither engagement check nor choose the option to attack 1 enemy)..

tamtamnoob said:

Thanks for all the answer. I got 1 more question 5) Does the first player have the option to pass the encounter phrase? ( meaning using neither engagement check nor choose the option to attack 1 enemy)..

no- the encounter phase must happen, just like the quest phase. you dont have to enagage any enemies optionally, but if an enemy can engage you then you have to let it (unless the card specifically says otherwise)

rich

tamtamnoob said:

1) During the quest phrase , i revealed the iron shackles card , which i had to attach it at the top of my deck . At the travel phrase, Mountains of mirkwood is the active quest . i manage to clear the active location and therefore it triggers the response on mountain of mirkwood. So , my question is , does iron shackles count towards the top 5 card and whether iron shackles got shuffle into my deck after the seached or i just simply discard it after seaching for the card i want .

1.) Mountains response does trigger. You do not draw a card. You search the top 5 cards and add one to your hand.

As the first player, during the encounter phrase, can I don't engage an enemy? Or I must choose either to use engagement check or engage an enemy?

muemakan said:

tamtamnoob said:

1) During the quest phrase , i revealed the iron shackles card , which i had to attach it at the top of my deck . At the travel phrase, Mountains of mirkwood is the active quest . i manage to clear the active location and therefore it triggers the response on mountain of mirkwood. So , my question is , does iron shackles count towards the top 5 card and whether iron shackles got shuffle into my deck after the seached or i just simply discard it after seaching for the card i want .

1.) Mountains response does trigger. You do not draw a card. You search the top 5 cards and add one to your hand.

When am I able to claim the objective card? Right after I defeat the enemy??

If the objective card is detached and return to the staging area, do I place the encounter card on the objective during the next quest phrase?

When i am revealing the card from the encounter deck to the staging area. Can i use event card to cancel the when reveal effect?

When I defeat the monster guarding the objective, and I did not claim it, during the next questing phrase, do I deal the encounter cards on the objective? ? As if the objective is being guarded.

tamtamnoob said:

As the first player, during the encounter phrase, can I don't engage an enemy Or I must choose either to use engagement check or engage an enemy?

Cuz when I was reading the faq 1.4, it stated that first player have the opportunity to engage ane enemy or pass.. i think is ard page 10-12 of the faq book

A player can pass on the opportunity to optionally engage an enemy. He would still be forced to do threat-checks after the optional engagement and, depending on the enemies, might end up engaged with the enemies anyway.

Passing on optional engagement is mostly used if you play with some friends, to take some heat off a player with low combat capabilities. Or if you want to postpone dealing with that enemy directly for a bit (he still ads to the quest phase since he would be in the staging area)

Nerdmeister said:

A player can pass on the opportunity to optionally engage an enemy. He would still be forced to do threat-checks after the optional engagement and, depending on the enemies, might end up engaged with the enemies anyway.

Passing on optional engagement is mostly used if you play with some friends, to take some heat off a player with low combat capabilities. Or if you want to postpone dealing with that enemy directly for a bit (he still ads to the quest phase since he would be in the staging area)

What do you mean postponed dealing directly with the enemy?

it isnt really an 'either or' choice with engagement. both are steps of the engagement phase.

you can either choose to engage an enemy or not, but that step still occurs as you need a step to make that choice

then you have to make engagement checks. these are not optional.

so both of these steps happen

what nerdmeister is refferring to is if your partner is playing a really good defending deck they would naturally want to engage most of the enemies…thus you would pass if there were only 1 enemy in the staging area, allowing your partner (assuming they were not the 1st player) to engage them

postponing dealing with the enemy is for when you have not got the power to take hits off it and you cant kill it. if its threat is higher than yours you dont have to engage it. therefore you would leave it in the staging area.

…..as for the objectives, they usually have some sort of phrase such as ' exhuast a hero to claim this objective when it is free of encounter cards' ….so you can only do this when you have deafeted the attatched encounter card.

the objectives do not get re-guarded. if they go back to staging area they do not get re guarded either. usually they just stay there and are ignored until you can claim them and they cards you draw from the encounter deck next turn are the same as usual.

….as for the iron shackles im not really sure if they get shuffled into your deck or not.

rich

richsabre said:

it isnt really an 'either or' choice with engagement. both are steps of the engagement phase.

you can either choose to engage an enemy or not, but that step still occurs as you need a step to make that choice

then you have to make engagement checks. these are not optional.

so both of these steps happen

what nerdmeister is refferring to is if your partner is playing a really good defending deck they would naturally want to engage most of the enemies…thus you would pass if there were only 1 enemy in the staging area, allowing your partner (assuming they were not the 1st player) to engage them

postponing dealing with the enemy is for when you have not got the power to take hits off it and you cant kill it. if its threat is higher than yours you dont have to engage it. therefore you would leave it in the staging area.

…..as for the objectives, they usually have some sort of phrase such as ' exhuast a hero to claim this objective when it is free of encounter cards' ….so you can only do this when you have deafeted the attatched encounter card.

the objectives do not get re-guarded. if they go back to staging area they do not get re guarded either. usually they just stay there and are ignored until you can claim them and they cards you draw from the encounter deck next turn are the same as usual.

….as for the iron shackles im not really sure if they get shuffled into your deck or not.

rich

So , there is 2 steps in the engagement phase . If i choose to engage the enemy , do i still need to make engagement check?

Secondly , u said that i can pass if there were only 1 enemy in the staging area , does it mean that i cant pass if there are more than 1 or there is a option for me to pass?

how about this question ??

1) When i am revealing the card from the encounter deck to the staging area. Can i use event card to cancel the when reveal effect?

tamtamnoob said:

how about this question ??

1) When i am revealing the card from the encounter deck to the staging area. Can i use event card to cancel the when reveal effect?

If an event card says that it can be used to counter a when revealed effect, then yes.

tamtamnoob said:

richsabre said:

it isnt really an 'either or' choice with engagement. both are steps of the engagement phase.

you can either choose to engage an enemy or not, but that step still occurs as you need a step to make that choice

then you have to make engagement checks. these are not optional.

so both of these steps happen

what nerdmeister is refferring to is if your partner is playing a really good defending deck they would naturally want to engage most of the enemies…thus you would pass if there were only 1 enemy in the staging area, allowing your partner (assuming they were not the 1st player) to engage them

postponing dealing with the enemy is for when you have not got the power to take hits off it and you cant kill it. if its threat is higher than yours you dont have to engage it. therefore you would leave it in the staging area.

…..as for the objectives, they usually have some sort of phrase such as ' exhuast a hero to claim this objective when it is free of encounter cards' ….so you can only do this when you have deafeted the attatched encounter card.

the objectives do not get re-guarded. if they go back to staging area they do not get re guarded either. usually they just stay there and are ignored until you can claim them and they cards you draw from the encounter deck next turn are the same as usual.

….as for the iron shackles im not really sure if they get shuffled into your deck or not.

rich

So , there is 2 steps in the engagement phase . If i choose to engage the enemy , do i still need to make engagement check?

Secondly , u said that i can pass if there were only 1 enemy in the staging area , does it mean that i cant pass if there are more than 1 or there is a option for me to pass?

Rich has alrdy addressed these questions in his response.

Yes you still make engagement checks

Yes you also make engagement checks if there is only 1 enemy in the staging area. The part about 1 enemy in the staging area is merely an example of how things could go.

Ok. i somehow know how does the engagement phase work. But i got 1 more question , what happen if 2 players fails the engagement check?? (Meaning both our threat level are lower or equal to the engagement cost of the enemy) . The enemy remain on the staging area??

tamtamnoob said:

Ok. i somehow know how does the engagement phase work. But i got 1 more question , what happen if 2 players fails the engagement check?? (Meaning both our threat level are lower or equal to the engagement cost of the enemy) . The enemy remain on the staging area??

Firstly, your threat would have to be lower than the engagement cost. Equal to still gets you engaged.

And yes if the engagement cost for an enemy is higher than all the players´ threat level then it will stay in the staging area (unless you have chosen to optionally engage them in the previous step, which is independent of engagement cost)

thank you very much