Shielding - putting shield token on enemy objective

By Secator, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions


Hi,




The manual says: "When a card with the “Shielding” keyword is declared as either attacker or defender, its controller may immediately place one shield token on any friendly unshielded participating unit, or to the engaged objective card , if unshielded.".




1. So if you're the attacker, can you use the "or to the engaged objective card" to put the shield token on enemy engaged objective, because there are no other engaged objectives at the moment? Please note that this is not a question about "does this make sense", it's about "how literally to understand the rules".




I also have two non-related questions:




2. Is the engaged objective conidered "participating" during the engagement?




3. Can you use play actions which remove tokens from cards when there are no required tokens on selected (target) card or no tokens in play at all? For example "tallon roll" with test "Action: Remove 1 focus token from a target Fighter unit"?




Thanks for help

1. Yes, you could (I've had that confirmed by FFG previously). But such a shield would then come under the ownership of your opponent - he gets to decide how to use it.

2. No, only units participate. All references will (should be!) be to the "engaged objective" and to "participating units".

3. It depends if there's a target or not. The FAQ answer on Tribal Support helps here, saying: "You can initate an effect that does not target even if you cannot complete that action successfully.". So, you couldn't do the example you gave because there must be an eligible target, but you could do a different action though, that didn't specifiy a target, even if it resulted in nothing.

Patrick