A few doubt to clarify

By tamtamnoob, in Rules questions & answers

Hi guys, i am new to this game as i just bought it recently. however there is a few question i would to clarify…

1) During which of the 7 phrase am i able to use event cards?

2) Am i able to use event card on another player?

3) During the engagement phrase , my brother use the event card called quick strike on 1 of his character . Does it skip the defending phrase and when to the attacking phrase where the character is able to deal damage to the creature first? If yes , am i able to use the ranged ability to help out my brother who uses the quick strike. ( original dmg with quick strike = 8 , plus ranged ability , total dmg = 10 )

Thanks for the answer !!

tamtamnoob said:

Hi guys, i am new to this game as i just bought it recently. however there is a few question i would to clarify…

1) During which of the 7 phrase am i able to use event cards?

2) Am i able to use event card on another player?

3) During the engagement phrase , my brother use the event card called quick strike on 1 of his character . Does it skip the defending phrase and when to the attacking phrase where the character is able to deal damage to the creature first? If yes , am i able to use the ranged ability to help out my brother who uses the quick strike.

Thanks for the answer !!

1.during the following:

-any green window in the phase chart in the back of the rule book.

-events which have 'response' can be used in response to what it says on the card. so test of will can be played after a treachery card is revealed from the encounter deck (this wouldnt otherwise be possible with a standard 'action' event)

2.if that card allows it to be used then yes. certain cards will state their uses (for example- '…….do X on a hero you control' can only be used on the card player's heros)

3.firstly yes- ony you attack the enemy. as for the 2nd part this is dealt with in the FAQ- ill have to check that…..

here it is ………..

Q: Can characters with the ranged keyword participate
in an attack declared through the card Quick Strike
(CORE 35)?
9
A: No. There is no opportunity for other characters to
join a Quick Strike attack. One character is exhausted
to pay for the cost of Quick Strike, and the effect is that
the exhausted character is immediately declared as an
attacker against the target enemy. The card’s resolution
does not allow for a standard declaration step in which
other characters can declare.

rich

Thanks for the quick reply. I now have a clearer picture of how the game process. Just left with the last question that need to clarify .

Ah, finally have my doubt clear. Can you pass me the link to the FAQ? thanks!

tamtamnoob said:

Ah, finally have my doubt clear. Can you pass me the link to the FAQ? thanks!

sure - here it is

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/lotr-lcg/FAQ%20update/2013-February/LOTR_FAQ_1.4.pdf

'**also note that i changed the first reply taking out the fact you can play events at the beginning and end of each phase….i was getting mixed up twith the fact that you can play events between each step as it says in the back of the rule book

rich

Hi, there is 1 more question I would like to ask. During the encounter phrase, there is 2 creatuee on the staging area. Am I able engage one 1 of the following2 option?

1) engage 1 enemy and left the other creature on the staging area.

2) use the engagement check method to use how many enemy I need to engage.

Basically, I wanted to know whether I can choose to engage 1 or more enemy using the first option or i can only choose 1 enemy to engage using the first option..

Thanks