Timing and Subzero Defenses

By dj9091, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Greetings All,

I have two questions, both involving the Light Side enhancement of Subzero Defenses:

1. Is having two of these out redundant as the text specifies “first” enemy unit to strike a friendly Hoth objective each turn? I assume having two out doesn’t give me two opportunities to use this card each turn. Anyone know of any benefit of having the second card in the deck outside of getting it in play quicker or losing one from play due to a dark side event?

2. This is a timing question. With Subzero Defense out, and the Light Side Objective “Renegade Squadron Mobilization” (Reaction: After an enemy unit leaves play, draw 1 card). If the dark side attacks Renegade Squadron Mobilization and destroys it, does Subzero Defense take first action by destroying the unit, and then Renegade Squadron Mobilization’s reaction allow for the light side player to take a card, and THEN Renegade Squadron Mobilization is destroyed and removed from play? OR, does Renegade Squadron Mobilization get destroyed and removed from play first and then Subzero Defense forces the destruction of the dark side’s unit removing the opportunity for the light side player to take a card?

Appreciate any assistance on this one!!

Thanks!

Don

dj9091 said:

1. Is having two of these out redundant as the text specifies “first” enemy unit to strike a friendly Hoth objective each turn? I assume having two out doesn’t give me two opportunities to use this card each turn. Anyone know of any benefit of having the second card in the deck outside of getting it in play quicker or losing one from play due to a dark side event?

Correct, a second is redundant. And yes, the second is in the pod for exactly the reasons you've outlined.

dj9091 said:

2. This is a timing question. With Subzero Defense out, and the Light Side Objective “Renegade Squadron Mobilization” (Reaction: After an enemy unit leaves play, draw 1 card). If the dark side attacks Renegade Squadron Mobilization and destroys it, does Subzero Defense take first action by destroying the unit, and then Renegade Squadron Mobilization’s reaction allow for the light side player to take a card, and THEN Renegade Squadron Mobilization is destroyed and removed from play? OR, does Renegade Squadron Mobilization get destroyed and removed from play first and then Subzero Defense forces the destruction of the dark side’s unit removing the opportunity for the light side player to take a card?

The objective destruction happens immediately the last damage is applied, which is during the strike. So it won't be in play when subzero defense resolves, which is after the strike.