A bunch of random questions!

By Jinxies, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hi! My local game store is holding a tournament and since I've started playing regularly again I thought I'd participste :3 I have a deck I'm pretty happy, it's an evolution of my old shadow deck that has now turned into a lot of ambush stuff instead. I'm not near my cards at the moment so sorry if I get the names wrong on some of them, internet is a bit wobbley so I can't really look them all up.

1. Can I use Ambush From The Plains to play shadow cards? Like the assassin who does -2?

2. Can I play Rule by Decree and then ambush a card before the effekt on turn one? (playing holloe hill agenda)

3. Will ambush from the plains trigger:

a. Baelerion The Black(huge dragon)

b. Company of the Cat

c. Magister… Illyrio?? the guy who do -1 on enter play will he trigger himself if I ambush him?

4. I can't remember the name but the plot 2/7?/1 says put 3cost into play and bounce character(both players) do players do it one at a time or what?? :S

5. Do Long Lances( 3cost ambush, untaps things when characters are played) trigger on themselves?

6. If I play shadow cards in Dominance do they count for it? How about Ambushers at the start of Dominance?

7. Can a character go below 0 Str?

8. Can I play spells with no target to get them out of my had? Like a target character gets -1 with a target?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Jinxies said:

Hi! My local game store is holding a tournament and since I've started playing regularly again I thought I'd participste :3 I have a deck I'm pretty happy, it's an evolution of my old shadow deck that has now turned into a lot of ambush stuff instead. I'm not near my cards at the moment so sorry if I get the names wrong on some of them, internet is a bit wobbley so I can't really look them all up.

1. Can I use Ambush From The Plains to play shadow cards? Like the assassin who does -2?

2. Can I play Rule by Decree and then ambush a card before the effekt on turn one? (playing holloe hill agenda)

3. Will ambush from the plains trigger:

a. Baelerion The Black(huge dragon)

b. Company of the Cat

c. Magister… Illyrio?? the guy who do -1 on enter play will he trigger himself if I ambush him?

4. I can't remember the name but the plot 2/7?/1 says put 3cost into play and bounce character(both players) do players do it one at a time or what?? :S

5. Do Long Lances( 3cost ambush, untaps things when characters are played) trigger on themselves?

6. If I play shadow cards in Dominance do they count for it? How about Ambushers at the start of Dominance?

7. Can a character go below 0 Str?

8. Can I play spells with no target to get them out of my had? Like a target character gets -1 with a target?

Thanks a lot for your help!

1. Yes, as long as his total printed cost (s1=3) is lower than your initiative.

2. You'll need to ambush or play said card before plots are chosen and revealed. There's no action window between reveal and resolution when it comes to "when revealed" plots.

3a. No, because it's a "put into play" effect, when Balerion specifically says you have to play him (pay his gold cost… which, if you have Dragon Lore is 0 instead of 10) from your hand during marshalling to get his effect

3b. Yes. They are entering play through a card effect, aren't they?

3c. Yes. Because he uses the wording "enters play during challenges," as long as you use this ability during challenges, it works.

4. Called to Court… it is, in fact 2/7/1… and players resolve it one at a time, starting with the player who revealed it.

5. Yes. A character entered play, right? They trigger.

6. If you bring it out of shadows during that part of the dominance phase, yes.

7. Only for the purposes of math when determining total strength… if you give a 3STR character -5 till end of phase… dead if 0… and they can only give it a +1 or +2, then it's still "at 0."

8. Events? (there are no "spells" in this game). Not if it says "choose," or "target." That's a play restriction that you have to check for before you're allowed to play the event.

ahaha spells xD I play too many card games I'm starting to confuse them :3 Soon I'll start making runs on their military server and tap my domais for influence ^.^

Thank you for the help!

Jinxies said:

6. If I play shadow cards in Dominance do they count for it? How about Ambushers at the start of Dominance?

While bringing a character out of Shadows at the beginning of Dominance can add to your total (the Shadows action is the first thing that happens each phase), ambushing in a character cannot. There's no Player Action Window to use Ambush before Dominance is determined.

Amuk said:

Jinxies said:

6. If I play shadow cards in Dominance do they count for it? How about Ambushers at the start of Dominance?

While bringing a character out of Shadows at the beginning of Dominance can add to your total (the Shadows action is the first thing that happens each phase), ambushing in a character cannot. There's no Player Action Window to use Ambush before Dominance is determined.

Oops. Yeah, completely spaced on the second half of that one.

While you can use Ambush from the Plains on a King's Landing assassin (you need 5 initiative, since his printed cost is 4 - s2), you cannot trigger his response, because he didn't come out of shadows (he was put into play from your hand or discard pile).

ah right, guess I'll stick to using it for Cat bouncing and getting discarded cards :3

Jinxies said:

ahaha spells xD I play too many card games I'm starting to confuse them :3 Soon I'll start making runs on their military server and tap my domais for influence ^.^

Thank you for the help!

You, sir, are awesome and have earned on funny GIF for your efforts:

8cJ8xGR.gif

It also seems somewhat approrpiate to the comment. O.o

Cool, a thread for random questions ! Here one !

Ser Addam Marbrand. : "While you have more gold in your gold pool than each opponent, your in-House Army characters do not kneel to attack or defend."

Each… do i must have more gold than each opponent separetely or all together ? Not sure…

Calepin said:

Cool, a thread for random questions ! Here one !

Ser Addam Marbrand. : "While you have more gold in your gold pool than each opponent, your in-House Army characters do not kneel to attack or defend."

Each… do i must have more gold than each opponent separetely or all together ? Not sure…

You need to have more gold in your pool than every other separate opponent.

So if you have 3 gold and player B has 2g, player C has 2g and player D has 0g then your in-house army chars dont kneel to attack/defend. If either player B,C or D had 3+ gold then you'd not be able to use marbrands passive.

Quite interesting… thank you !