Stand Together and two Gondorian Spearman

By PESKPESK, in Rules questions & answers

Situation: Chieftain of the Pit has engaged the first player and is dealt at shadow card. The first player plays Stand Together and declares that his two Gondorian Spearman shall defend against, Chieftain of the Pit.

Questions:

  1. Can the Response "…deal 1 damage" be made twice (once for each spearman)?
  2. If the two Gondorian Spearman also had Spear of the Citadel, is the Chieftain of the Pit is instantly killed?
  3. If two other characters where declared as defenders would their defense values be added together?

Chieftain of the Pit

Type: Enemy

Encounter Set: Plundering Goblins

Threshold: 27

Threat: 2 Attack: 5 Defense: 2 Hit Points: 4

Goblin. Orc.

When Revealed: Chieftain of the Pit gets +3 [Attack] until the end of the round.

Shadow: Attacking enemy attacks again after this attack. Deal it another shadow card for the next attack.

Stand Together

Type: Event

Sphere: Tactics Cost: 0

Action: Choose a player. That player may declare any number of his eligible characters as defenders against each enemy attacking him this phase.

Gondorian Spearman

Type: Ally

Sphere: Tactics Cost: 2

Willpower: 0 Attack: 1 Defense: 1 Hit Points: 1

Gondor. Warrior.

Sentinel.

Response: After Gondorian Spearman is declared as a defender, deal 1 damage to the attacking enemy.

Spear of the Citadel

Type: Attachment

Sphere: Tactics Cost: 2

Item. Weapon.

Attach to a [Tactics] character. Restricted.

Limit 1 per character.

Response: After attached character is declared as a defender, deal 1 damage to the attacking enemy.

PESKPESK said:

Situation: Chieftain of the Pit has engaged the first player and is dealt at shadow card. The first player plays Stand Together and declares that his two Gondorian Spearman shall defend against, Chieftain of the Pit.

Questions:

  1. Can the Response "…deal 1 damage" be made twice (once for each spearman)?
  2. If the two Gondorian Spearman also had Spear of the Citadel, is the Chieftain of the Pit is instantly killed?
  3. If two other characters where declared as defenders would their defense values be added together?

1. yes, each response can be triggered once (and only once) for each triggering condition being fulfilled (in this case, the spearman is declared as defender)

2. yes, because totally four damages are dealt to the Chieftain as responses to being declared as defenders)

3. yes, their defense values are added together; however, the damage from the attacker must be assigned to a single defender (as clarified in the FAQ)

Is really amazing combo! I didn thinking about it! So Hama Beregond deck with a Gondorian spearman and Spear of citadel and Stand Together. Wow wow wow ! Sound very solid and powerful!