Before the Black Walls and Naval

By AerysII, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Before the Black Walls is a plot card which states "When revealed, name a challenge type. In order to declare any characters to attack or defend during challenges of that type, a player must declare all of his or her eligible characters…"

How does this interact with characters who can defend before the "declare defenders" step (e.g. Naval enhanced characters and Greatjon Umber)? I'm thinking that only those kinds of characters would be eligible so they could declare a Naval defender during the player action window without having to later declare any other defenders. But in order to declare one Naval defender they would have to declare all of their Naval characters with appropriately enhanced icons. Is that right?

Thanks!

Actually I'm thinking my idea wouldn't make sense since you can't simultaneously declare Naval characters. So I guess I'm just stumped.

Naval attackers and defenders are declared, but Greatjon Umber (either version), is not. Greatjon may or may not join the challenge with his ability (though if he is eligible for being declared, he must be declared with all others or not declared with all others).

I guess that means you wouldn't be able to declare naval attackers/defenders in that challenge at all, unless some of them were removed from the challenge and stood.

Yeah, my bad on the Greatjon. I remembered the article talking about how the Naval mechanic was based on him and assumed he had the same wording without actually looking at him again.

Khudzlin said:

  1. Naval attackers and defenders are declared, but Greatjon Umber (either version), is not. Greatjon may or may not join the challenge with his ability (though if he is eligible for being declared, he must be declared with all others or not declared with all others).
  2. I guess that means you wouldn't be able to declare naval attackers/defenders in that challenge at all, unless some of them were removed from the challenge and stood.

Totally agree with both statements.

I'm waiting on a clarification from Damon regarding Naval that will determine this for sure.

It was pretty much answered in this thread, number 4 on this list.

…verified by Damon:

  1. While only the attacking and defending players may declare Naval attackers and defenders, they can do so on either side of the challenge.
  2. "Does not kneel to attack/defend" does not work for declaring Naval attackers/defenders (unless it specifically says something along the lines of "does not kneel to be declared as a Naval attacker or defender," of course).
  3. Like your hand or cards in Shadows, The Hold is open information to the owner/controller, but not to other players.
  4. Effects that key off of (or limit) "declaring" attackers/defenders applies equally to Naval declaration and to standard framework declaration.
  5. Effects that key off of not declaring defenders (think of things like The Lord Commander title, the "support" mechanic, and the card Abel's Washerwoman) only apply to the standard framework declaration of defenders.