Advanced actions

By AlephTau, in WFRP Rules Questions

Does an advanced action like 'Advanced Counterspell' require the PC to already have the basic version in order to be allowed to aquire it? Of course I'm talking about a situation, where the basic action was not aquired for free at char gen.

If we use Improved Dodge as an example, then NO. You are not required unless it says so on the card.

jh

Thanks, should apply to counterspell too, then.

Emirikol said:

If we use Improved Dodge as an example, then NO. You are not required unless it says so on the card.

jh

That is wrong.

I myself had the same doubts but I asked FFG and you do need the previous card, you can only replace, not purchase it anew. (and I'm pretty sure I posted this answer from Dan before, but here it is in case I didn't)

"Improved Dodge" and etc. are intended to replace an existing action
card already in your action deck; in the case of "Improved Dodge" that
card is "Dodge." If you don't already know "Dodge," you can't learn
"Improved Dodge." The same is true for "Advanced Dodge" and its ilk,
available in Hero's Call.

Still, since "Dodge" is a basic action, the odds of any character
who's intending to learn "Improved Dodge" not having it should be
quite low.

Enjoy the game!


~Dan Clark
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

EDIT: And here's the question I asked

Rule Question:

> The 'improved' versions of actions (e.g. Improved Dodge) don't list
> having the basic action as a requirement for getting the improved
> action, is it suppose to be a progression or can you skip the basic
> if you just want the improved version (if you did not acquire it at
> character creation for some reason)?
>
> Does this also apply to the Epic versions or are there rules dealing
> with these epic versions in Heros' call?
>
> Thanks for your answers

Related question: There's some Epic talents that mention they replace two different non-Epic talents. Do you need 0, 1 or 2 of the narrower talents to qualify?

From his answer I would guess you need both.

That's kinda of a bummer. IIRC those talents aren't actually more potent in effect than the ones they replace, but simply allow you to get both effects via a single talent slot so you don't have to swap back and forth. (Could be wrong, haven't looked recently.)

I'm running the game with the optional rule where each card can only be purchased by 1 PC. If you need both to qualify for the Epic version that could potentially cause trouble.

Thank you Matchstickman for sharing that.

I guess that ruling goes for all cards that say they "replace" another card, including talents. Btw I think it quite wothwhile to replace three cards with only one to socket. Well worth spending one advane on (esp. at epic level).

AlephTau said:

Btw I think it quite wothwhile to replace three cards with only one to socket. Well worth spending one advane on (esp. at epic level).

Good point. Having now re-read the talents in question, I agree with you.

Good catch matchstick. I don't think this has hade it into the errata document.