if the gunner first attack has several hit results but the targed evades by rollind and or using a action can the gunner shoot again since it dod not hit the ship?
Gunner question
DarkGuard said:
if the gunner first attack has several hit results but the targed evades by rollind and or using a action can the gunner shoot again since it dod not hit the ship?
Yes. The definition for being Hit by an attack is on page 12 of the rulebook. Do not confuse this definition with the common usage of the word "hit' to describe symbols on the dice. If filled explosion symbols and/or unfilled explosion symbols are rolled on the attack dice, and all of them are cancelled by rolled evade symbols, spending evade tokens, or changing focus results to evade results by spending a focus token, then the attack did not Hit, and Gunner's ability kicks in to immediately trigger another attack using the primary weapon.
EDIT: I answered this question "yes" because I made the (correct) assumption that the OP was talking about the first attack the ship made missing, which would trigger Gunner's ability for a second and final attack. I figured the question was caused by confusion between the [hit] results on the dice and being Hit by an attack as defined in the rules. ReaverRandall broke it down better than I did, but we are both talking about the same result.
Thank you for clearing that up =D
DarkGuard said:
if the gunner first attack has several hit results but the targed evades by rollind and or using a action can the gunner shoot again since it dod not hit the ship?
NO. The gunner only gets one chance to make his attack.
The way you have this worded is difficult.
The gunner is the crew for a ship, he allows a second primary weapons attack if the original attack made by the ship fails, then he is done.
So here is how it goes:
Say you have Gunner on the Falcon;
the Falcon makes an attack that fails to score a hit on a ship.
gunner now takes effect and you get to make a second attack using your primary weapon.
You abide by the results of this attack and your turn is done for that ship.
The gunner does not get to redo his own attack, I thought the card langauge was pretty clear, but some find it confusing.
"After you perform an attack that does not hit (this is the attack made by your ship/pilot/whatever), immediately perform a primary weapon attack(this is the attack made by the Gunner Crew). You cannot perform another attack this round."
sorry i did describe it badly but that is what i meant. thank you for clarifying
If falcon pilot han solo then can re roll for gunner, same aplies for target lock, so you could apply two target locks to different ships(weapons engineer), fire at one ship,it evades and cancels all your hits, then gunner kicks in, and can trget different ship and then re roll if target lock.
I think I understand what you're saying. That, after the first attack and TL reroll fails, gunner than makes another attack with primary weapons and gets a TL reroll if attacking the second Target-locked ship. This only works if you can change targets for the second (gunner) attack. I see nothing limiting you from changing targets for the second attack.