Forest Spider question

By Khamul The Easterling, in Rules questions & answers

So I was playing a solo game of passage through mirkwood and I got a caught in a web. So I attached it to Brand. Then I was defending and I got Forest spider as a shadow card. it says "The Defedning Player must choose and discard 1 attachemnt he controls. Rich said in a previous question that An "attachment you control" means an attachment in play, not in your hand. So I did not have any attachments except fot the "carght in a web" which reads

When Revealed: The player with the highest threat level attaches this card to one of his heroes. (Counts as a Condition attachment with the text: "Attached hero does not ready during the refresh phase unless you pay 2 resources from that hero's pool.")

So it says It counts as an attachment (condition is the kind of attachment). So can I discard caught in a web to resolve the shadow effect?

Thanks,

Khamul

No:

"(1.06) Control of Non-objective Encounter Cards

Players do not gain control of encounter cards unless
control of the card is explicitly granted by a card
effect. When an encounter card (such as Caught in a
Web, CORE 86) becomes an attachment and attaches
to a character, that character’s controller does not gain
control of the attachment." (FAQ, p.4)
And FS Shadow only allows you to discard an attachment you control. In this case it would do nothing.

ah i think this is my fault for not being clear when i answered your question about 'in play attatchments'

if i remember rightly, you asked whether an attatchment you control is in hand or play? what i meant to say is you never control one that is in your hand, but you also dont control one that is an encounter card

rich