Gloin and Sneak Attack.

By deanruel, in Rules questions & answers

I'm curious if anyone knows if using Sneak Attack with the Gloin ally grants you Gloin's 2 resources, assuming you have the 5 dwarves neccesary. My reading of the text says yes but I want to make sure that's correct.

I believe that you can trigger his response…

However, the question is: why spend Sneak Attack to put Gloin in play?

Essencially you are putting Gloin into play by the same cost…

CJMatos said:

I believe that you can trigger his response…

However, the question is: why spend Sneak Attack to put Gloin in play?

Essencially you are putting Gloin into play by the same cost…

the only reason is to keep getting the two resources as he will be put back into your hand.

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.

karagh said:

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.

is this right?

gloin says 'after you play gloin from your hand….'

sneak attack says 'put 1 ally card into play from your hand….'

richsabre said:

karagh said:

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.

is this right?

gloin says 'after you play gloin from your hand….'

sneak attack says 'put 1 ally card into play from your hand….'

karagh is correct, as "play" is different from "put into play". "Play" means paying the resource cost and moving the card from your hand to the play area.

Angus Lee said:

richsabre said:

karagh said:

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.

is this right?

gloin says 'after you play gloin from your hand ….'

sneak attack says 'put 1 ally card into play from your hand ….'

karagh is correct, as "play" is different from "put into play". "Play" means paying the resource cost and moving the card from your hand to the play area.

I have serious doubts about karagh been correct…

Sorry but to me, you can trigger the response from gloin.

The card is played from your hand…

one for caleb then perhaps? i only ask first as i have sent rather a lot of requests lately….he probably thinks i havent even read the rule book haha

rich

I just sent one in… Sorry if someone else already has. cangrejo I'll post when the answer arrives.

"(1.16) The phrase “put into play”
If a card effect uses the phrase “put into play,” it means
that the card enters play through a card effect instead
of through the normal process of paying resources and
playing the card from hand. “Put into play” effects
are not considered to be playing the card, and will not
trigger any effects that refer to a card being played.
“Put into play” will, however, trigger any effects that
occur when a card “enters play”." (FAQ, p. 5)
Second sentence in particular. Sheesh, rich has probably played a 1000+ games and still can't get the rules right burla , while I, who last played almost a year ago, can still remember critical details like this. Then again, I'm a rules lawyer at heart.
Also, is it any wonder if replies take a while when people bombard them with questions THERE ARE ALREADY OFFICIAL RULINGS TO enfadado !

Dam said:

"(1.16) The phrase “put into play”
If a card effect uses the phrase “put into play,” it means
that the card enters play through a card effect instead
of through the normal process of paying resources and
playing the card from hand. “Put into play” effects
are not considered to be playing the card, and will not
trigger any effects that refer to a card being played.
“Put into play” will, however, trigger any effects that
occur when a card “enters play”." (FAQ, p. 5)
Second sentence in particular. Sheesh, rich has probably played a 1000+ games and still can't get the rules right burla , while I, who last played almost a year ago, can still remember critical details like this. Then again, I'm a rules lawyer at heart.
Also, is it any wonder if replies take a while when people bombard them with questions THERE ARE ALREADY OFFICIAL RULINGS TO enfadado !

cheeky bugger….1000 is an understatement..haha. im too 'involved' in theme to concern myself over such trivial details….. reir

and the other questions were actually valid ones (we need new faq!!)……

oh….and i just love hobbits…cant get enough of them…..(that will teach you cangrejo )

That's true Dam, there are already official rulings to all this. But for some reason, people like it better when they know for a fact that the developer has confirmed it. reir

Anyway, here it is, and Dam is correct.

No. Gloin's response triggers after you "play from hand" whereas Sneak attack reads "put an ally into play…" The difference between "play" and "put into play" is key here. To play an ally from hand, you must pay that ally's cost during the planning phase. That is the only time you can trigger Gloin's response.
Cheers,
Caleb

legolas18 said:

That's true Dam, there are already official rulings to all this. But for some reason, people like it better when they know for a fact that the developer has confirmed it. reir

strangely thats true…….

rich

I just had this same discussion on some cards in the AGOT LCG.

Same wording, same ruling.

It seems they could have cleared up a lot of confusion with better wording around the phrases "play from your hand" and "put into play". Play is either an verb (play from your hand) or noun (put into play). When it's a noun, you can't trigger responses.