Bane Sword and Enchant Blade

By faithxslayer, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi all,

first of all forgive my english (writing all the way from italy).

My question is this: can a character use the spell enchant blade on the bane sword? and if so, does the spell add +1 to the craft?

Thank you all

Well, it certainly should in no way add +1 Craft, because Enchant Blade says:

"Cast at the start of your turn. Place this card on one of your Weapons . The Weapon is now considered a Magic Object and adds an additional 1 to your Strength during battle."

I'd allow casting it on the Bane Sword, which would then give +1 Str in battle, +2 Craft in psychic combat against Spirits (note only Spirits, not every psychic combat). Bane Sword is a Weapon and as such, a legal target.

Dam said:

Well, it certainly should in no way add +1 Craft, because Enchant Blade says:

"Cast at the start of your turn. Place this card on one of your Weapons . The Weapon is now considered a Magic Object and adds an additional 1 to your Strength during battle."

I'd allow casting it on the Bane Sword, which would then give +1 Str in battle, +2 Craft in psychic combat against Spirits (note only Spirits, not every psychic combat). Bane Sword is a Weapon and as such, a legal target.

That makes sense.

In a sense the bane sword, with the spell active, becomes like the skull wand ( with of course the limitation in the psychic combat against the spirts).

Following this reasoning, I can use the spell on any weapon that adds craft and use it in combat as well as psychic combat.

Just be mindful not to do so with an Evil/Neutral Priest or Monk, since they cannot use weapons in battle (but can in psychic combat).