Committing to the force

By AussieJedi, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hey everyone.

Was in a game the other day and I had a unit (really good one too; Luke Skywalker) who was exhausted, and my only one on my side. My opponent asked me if I wanted to commit to the force and I said "well I can't because he is exhausted, right". he said I could commit him, but he wouldn't do anything until he is un-exhausted.

It doesn't make sense to be able to do this. I would expect that I can only commit "clear" units. If I attacked with luke, focused him and then committed him, it seems like a win-win situation for me.

As it turned out; I then committed him, next turn took off the focus tokens and it led me to the win, because of all the extra damage that I could turn out onto the DS objectives.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Yes you can commit exhausted units to the force. Rules page 14.

Toqtamish said:

Yes you can commit exhausted units to the force. Rules page 14.

However, exhausted units do not count their strength toward the Force Struggle. Commiting Luke when you did, and committing him one turn later would almost certainly have achieved the same result, unless you had the ability to ready him during the DS player's turn.

radiskull said:

unless you had the ability to ready him during the DS player's turn.

Which Luke has built in, if he committed him after he attacked for the turn, since his ability removes a focus token at the start of the DS player's turn.

To add to that, since Luke is not "elite", this is a good time to commit him to the force and take advantage of only having one focus token on him. When the opponent's turn begins and the focus token comes off, as long as Luke is not used in the engagement, he counts toward the force struggle (and this forces a strategic decision on the Dark Side player). After that, it's once ever complete round minus events that remove the focus tokens.

I often attack with Luke the first turn he's out then slap the "committed to the force" on him and then he dumps the focus token at the beginning of the opponent's turn and can either be used to defend or to win the force that turn.