Self Preservation Question

By drpresident, in Rules questions & answers

The card text reads:

Attach to a character.

Action : Exhaust Self Preservation to heal 2 points of damage from attached character.

Can I use this to heal just 1 point of damage? Maybe I am interpreting this too literally, but since the card does not say "heal up to 2 points of damage" do I have to wait until I acquire 2 points of damage before I can use this attachment?

i think it means heal up to 2 damage , i think its just worded differently, at least thats the way ive been playing it. so you can heal 1 damage or 2

….strange that it doesnt say 'up to' like daughter of the nimrodel..i rarely use this card so id wait for somone else to clarify

rich

I think if there is only 1 damage on the character, you can use it to heal that 1 damage -- no problem. But if you have 2 damage, I don't think you can use it to heal only 1 and leave 1 damage on the character (for Gimli, for example). It would need to say "up to 2 damage," as rich points out. There are cards that are worded that way, such as Warden of Healing and A Very Good Tale.

yeah thats a good point, and one i have never thought of.oh well at least i was playing it correctly

rich

Deleted. Post redundant.